Newnan to Kentucky


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Kentucky » Paducah
June 16th 2008
Published: June 17th 2008
Edit Blog Post

BJ camped out in the truckBJ camped out in the truckBJ camped out in the truck

BJ wanted to go so badly she waited for hours in the truck while I loaded everything.
Bear with me this is the first log entry so I will take some time and write a little more than I might otherwise put in the first day's trip record. I am also learning to add photos so there are more than might be necessary for this first entry. I will work on using formatting later.

Today was mostly about getting started and taking advantage of an opportuntiy to visit with family. BJ, our Miniature Schnauzer, was sure she was going to travel with us so she arranged herself in the front seat while I loaded everything. She will be staying at home this trip. We stopped for lunch in Chattanooga with Mom, Dad, Cathy and, Beth.

The weather was great and traffic was easy except for a brief slurge of rush hour stuff in Nashville. The bike trailer towed easily but lowered our fuel economy significantly. Fuel in Tennessee and Kentucky ranges between $3.81 (seems to be the norm) and $4.07 per gallon (unusually high price compared what we generally found).

Courtyard in Paducah was our stopover for the night. We plan to load out fairly early in the morning and drive the remaining 425 miles
Bike LoadedBike LoadedBike Loaded

Donna wanted a shot of me on the trailered bike.
to Kansas City.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Hug and a PrayerHug and a Prayer
Hug and a Prayer

We were loading up to leave after four years of preparing and planning.
Leaving NewnanLeaving Newnan
Leaving Newnan

Our "rig" heading out.
Mom at lunchMom at lunch
Mom at lunch

Mom is cleaning up after lunch.
The FamilyThe Family
The Family

Mom, Dad, Cathy, Beth and, Donna.


17th June 2008

Load 'em Up and Move 'em Out!
Sorry I missed you guys yesterday at lunch! I had this silly little thing called "work". I think you're on to something with the whole retirement thing.....anyway, I am living vicariously through your adventures so make them good! Love you! Dyea and Kaylie
18th June 2008

From those left behind
We loved seeing both of you in travel mode! Reminds us of older timeswith us as kids. We are real jealous, keep the pictures coming!!! Mom, Cathy, Granp pa great and Beth
19th June 2008

I can't get blog thru my e-mail
Hey, Al, When I go in through my access to your blog, it reads that I don't have permission to access this blog. ?? Will check again another day:) love you, cathy
22nd June 2008

BLOG Access
I just made the BLOG public so you should be able to get to it now. I love you.

Tot: 0.169s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 10; qc: 61; dbt: 0.1179s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb