Maysville - Week 2


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Kentucky » Maysville
June 18th 2010
Published: June 18th 2010
Edit Blog Post

14th June - Monday

Arrived at the new camp. This week I've got first kicks 9-10am (7 kids) and mini soccer 10.15-12.15 (10 kids). Today it was chucking it down so we had to go inside which made is very difficult and stressful as they kids just ran around chaotically! Me and Coach Tom Junior then went round some local shops, Walmart, Dunhams etc lots of guns everywhere which was very scary eeeek! And a lot of hillbillies too! When I got home in afternoon, me and the kids went on the inflatable slide in the back garden, which is a slide which squirts water down as u slide down - its fun! Then me and the other coaches went to watch the A-Team at the local cinema!

15th June - Tuesday

I coached in the morning which was better than the day before as we were able to go outside. After lunch, me and Tom went to an outside swimming pool (paradise breeze) which has a nice big pool, lots of sunbeds and 2 slides! Little did we know now that this would be where we'd spend most of our week! Later, the other coaches and some of the kids joined us. We then went to one of the host families cafes and I got a vegan smoothie, mmmm. Then at home, I watched Alice in Wonderland with the family. There was a massive thunderstorm that night and many local things got wrecked! Such as ... http://www.nydailynews.com/news/national/2010/06/17/2010-06-17_touchdown_jesus_could_make_a_comeback_artist_and_church_want_to_rebuild_king_of_.html

16th June - Wednesday

Coaching went well this morning, and it was really hot! It was dress the coach day, so I was in an apron, some bling, and many many feather bowers! After lunch, me and Tom went to his house to watch some of the world cup. I rang my dad, and then we went back to the cafe and then back to the pool. In the evening we watched the Princess bride film, which was funny!

17th June - Thursday

Coaching went well again and was extremely hot, but the kids were very violent today and kept making each other cry - once one starts they all do! Me and Tom went back to the cafe then to the pool. The owner loves us now and gets us is for pretty much free. Later, me Tom and Kev went to go bridge jumping off a bridge with some lifeguards from the pool - I didn't fancy it though because the water looked horrid, and there was a few hillbillies around, so I chickened out. Then we went home and helped the girls finish their flags for Friday camp, and then I did my evalatuions for the next day.

Found out that I'm going to Lawrenceburg, Kentucky next week - and I'll only be working an hour and a half every day. It's a hard life this coaching malarky!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 54; dbt: 0.0436s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb