Tonight


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Kentucky » Louisville
December 26th 2014
Published: December 26th 2014
Edit Blog Post

It's 1:10am in Louisville, KY and I leave for Thailand in T-5 hours. I'm basically packed except for a few toiletries and my computer and stuff. My backpack is going to be so heavy tomorrow... Well, really it's today, and I'm not even sure if I'm going to get any sleep tonight. I keep thinking I'm tired and then I think about sleep and I get knots in my stomach and my eyes pop open. I am so absolutely terrified, but more than excited to be going to Thailand! I just don't even know what to think. Earlier today I had a panic moment because I didn't feel prepared enough to go on this journey, but then I remembered that no matter what I do, I will never be prepared enough. There is no way to prepare for the ultimate culture, time, weather, smell, food shocks that are about to come my way. I'm leaving 40 degree and rainy weather to enter 90 degree sunny and humid weather. Since Christmas was just (my today) yesterday, I'm been stocking up on all the fatty, starchy, and sweet foods that I can get my hands on, something I will not find in Thailand. Not to mention I'm not a big city girl and I'm about to fly into not only a big city, but a big city in a foreign country.

I can't believe I'm actually doing this. It's so surreal, like I don't really even know what to think, how to feel, or any of that. I just know that I have to wake up in about two hours... or something, maybe I won't wake up, maybe I'll just get out of bed and take a shower. Should I drink coffee? Should I try to sleep on the plane and stay up until then or should I get coffee and try to stay awake? I think I'll get coffee because if I'm really exhausted it doesn't prevent me from falling asleep. So I'll get some coffee, or make some coffee in the morning, and that will give me enough energy to get through the airport and on to the plane and then I can sleep on the flight to Dallas. I can get something to eat in Dallas and then it's off to my 17 hour flight to Hong Kong. Another 4 hours in HK before I fly with three other KEI students to Bangkok!

I don't think I'll actually realize what happened until I step into the Hong Kong airport and realize that I am actually in Asia... When I arrive in Bangkok it will be nighttime, so either I'm not going to see the city that well or I will see the awesome lights of a big city at night! I don't care but I'm so excited either way. Its so surreal. I just don't really even know what to think. Yeah. Stuff.





Advertisement



Tot: 0.136s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0412s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb