Temptation


Advertisement
Published: February 5th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Austin's Inn PlaceAustin's Inn PlaceAustin's Inn Place

The pretty garden where I stayed
Today was mostly another day off.

I need to pace myself during big festivals, otherwise I burn out.

The main event today was a concert of Christian rock music, so I figured it was a good day to rest.

It did have one major highlight.

I went to Gryslain.

This restaurant is set up like a Parisian bistro.

While they serve very good gourmet sandwiches, that is just the sideshow.

Gryslain is run by one of Louisville’s best pastry chefs Ghyslain Maurais, and he uses it as a showcase for his work.

It has long displays of mouth watering treats, each one looking like a work of art.

Just being here will give chocolate lovers heart palpitations (and give diabetics a stroke.)

I know my limits well enough at this point to stop after three.

After the first one, I wanted far more.

By the last, I knew I had to go home for my own health.

The deserts here do not reach the level of the pastry shops in Boston’s North End, but they are the closest I’ve found yet.


Additional photos below
Photos: 2, Displayed: 2


Advertisement

Shooting memorialShooting memorial
Shooting memorial

Something like this will definitely make a neighborhood feel sketchy


Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0397s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb