Final blog Florence, Italy trip


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Kentucky » Lexington
February 4th 2018
Published: February 5th 2018
Edit Blog Post

Final Blog for Florence, Italy Trip



What an amazing trip. I wished it did not have to end. I tried to extend the experience by finding some Italian restaurants in Lexington. I found five, Bella Notte, Olive Garden, Paisano’s Italian Restaurant, all on Nicholasville Road, Giuseppe’s Ristorante Italians and Portofino. I have eaten at Olive Garden before so I tried Bella Notte. It just was not the same as being in Florence. I will try the other restaurants, but I do not think the food or atmosphere will come close to the experience of being in Italy, that leaves me with one of two options, return to Italy for their wonderful food or learn to cook Italian food. Where is the cook books?



I also got used to having a cup of cappuccino and an Americano Caramello Latte everyday, so went to Starbucks (that expensive coffee shop) for a cup of cappuccino. It was awful. I guess I have to learn to make my own.



I was glad that the students from last year shared their experiences with me. It helped me to prepare and to know what to expect. But there really is no way you can be totally prepared for a trip like this, there is so much to see, learn and experience. I would suggest that future study abroad students talk with other students that have been where they are going and learn as much as possible beforehand, that way it will more enjoyable.



I loved what I learned in Florence and I want to learn more, that is why I have already started to plan for a return trip. I brought the Italian textbook back with me so I can continue learning the language. I am also planning to learn more about the artists and their artwork that I saw in the museums.



I want to thank the study abound office for coordinating this amazing trip. I especially want to thank Dr. Bush, Rachel Harrington, Susan Kipp for all their hard work keeping us on track and helping us around the airports and train stations. I also want to thank the staff at the school in Italy.



Steps

Jan. 24 -19,509

Jan. 25 -16,864

Jan. 26 -13,777

Jan. 27 -3,691 still sick, rested

Jan. 28 -3,740 still sick, rested

Jan. 29 -3,722 still sick, rested

Jan. 30 -11,889 worked, rearranged department

Jan. 31 -5,995 worked but still sick,

Feb. 1 -3,338 worked but still sick

Feb. 2 -? Forgot to wear Fitbit

Feb. 3 -11,436

Feb. 4 -13,416

Advertisement



Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 9; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0383s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb