Blog One- Preparing for Italy By: Chelsea Pingleton


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Kentucky » Berea
January 2nd 2018
Published: January 3rd 2018
Edit Blog Post

Over the past three weeks I have been preparing for the Study Abroad Experience to Florence, Italy. I have consulted with my doctor to make sure I am physically able to maintain a healthy lifestyle in Italy, and that all medications that are currently in use are up to date and filled. Physically I have attended the local gym to build stamina for long walks in Italy. I have tracked my steps for the past week (seven days) and have calculated 25,980 steps in total. These steps do not include gym time, just daily life activity with work and school. I can only imagine my steps will double in Italy due to walking for much longer distances, and driving a lot less. Meal wise I have prepared to eat a little healthier than normal due to having higher blood sugar, I calculated eating about one and a half hours total in eating for one day, due to a busy schedule. My daily food intake would include a hot chocolate for breakfast, Pork Reins and some water for a snack, salad for lunch, and steak with sweet potatoes for dinner. While in Italy I plan on keeping a healthy diet, but I will not be discouraged to splurge a little, as you only live once in Italy!

Emotionally I have been working on what I need to pack for a few weeks so that I do not get overwhelmed by the packing experience. I have taken notes from what past students have said about Florence, Italy, and have taken into consideration what those students suggest in packing. I did not realize how many essentials I need in over a month’s time until starting to pack. Just basics, such as shampoo, soap, toothbrush, toothpaste, and washcloths take up space in a suitcase, and larger items such as sweater take up most of the room. I plan on packing light with several layered items, since I did some investigating on what the weather would be, packing warmer clothing is a must, and thinking of items that can be brought instead of purchasing upon arrival can save time and money in an unfamiliar store. Some items would be cleaning solutions, since there are no maid services! I just hope the Airline does not confiscate my Clorox and Wet Wipes!

For my own sake, I have worked several long days to make up for loss of pay while gone to relive stress upon return. Working longer hours to pay for this experience has also taught me that I can save more money when I really want something. Mentally I have prepared myself for anything and everything that can go on while studying Abroad. While I am away in a different country I still have to think of things that need to be done here at Eastern, such as class schedules, and payments; so I have already made sure all money is in my bank account and ready to be processed. My class schedule has not changed and is ready for spring semester upon return. Past students have suggest to attend as many historical sites that are possible, to be laid back, and take plenty of pictures-just remember what you take a picture of- and be open to new ideas and concept of a different culture. One thing I have been working on is being less impatient. I have been married for over five years, and the most difficult part of preparing for this Study Abroad Experience was preparing my husband for me to leaving for a month! Although, I have put several notes on the refrigerator, I am positive he can handle laundry and cooking on his own! I am very excited about going to Italy because I have never visited another country outside the United States. I am nervous about the language barrier and hope there are some Italians who speak English! I am ready for all experiences Italy will bring!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0421s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb