Blog Two: Three Days Into Florence And... BY: Chelsea Pingleton


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Tuscany » Florence
January 7th 2018
Published: January 7th 2018
Edit Blog Post

WOW! I cannot believe I finally made it to Florence, Italy! The experience so far has been quiet overwhelming, but eventful. It has only been three days and have already been so many places. First, the ten-hour plane ride was an experience. I have never flown at night, or had so much turbulence. It was sort of scary at first, but once the night set in I was off to sleep, which lasted a total of one hour! I also had no idea checking into eat airport would be so difficult, and after almost missing our flight from Paris to Florence, I would say stress and sweat levels were high.

After arriving to Florence, I thought I would be in complete culture shock, but it was not too bad. After arrival, our taxi driver flew threw the streets that were of cobble stone, swerving in and out of traffic. This has probably been the scariest moment since arriving. I am also shocked that everyone rides bicycles and mopeds everywhere. If not careful they will run over you as well! Since I did arrive when it was Epiphany (Christmas for Italians) We did get to see the Epiphany Parade. I asked an Italian close by what was celebrated in the Parade and he said, “it was of past Kings and their clothing history”. I had no idea this is how Italy portrayed their Parade. The parade ended with fun drum beat and Christmas Carols, or should I say “Epiphany Carols”.

The view from my window is of the historical Duomo Museum. The front is the baptism and behind is cathedral. It is very breath taking, and large. The baptism was built first because it is to believe that you must be baptized before entering the church. The history of the DOME is interesting within itself, just like all other wonderful places that I have came across. Such as Michaelangelo Square, where there is his statue, and sightseeing, over the railing over the City was the best view I have seen in a long time. I would only compare it to looking over the Indian Fort Pinnacles at home, but it does not even compare. The buildings and architecture are very well hand made. Today we traveled to the Leaning Tower of Pisa. At first glance I did not realize the slanted tower, but one on it you can see the unintentional slant.

The most shocking experience I have had is that there are dogs EVERYWHERE on the streets, they also allow them in restaurants and stores. They are not service animals either, just everyone’s pets. I am also astonished by the upscale shopping, such as Gucci, in such a crowded town. Smoking is strong here in Italy, and just being here three days, I already smell like a pack of Marlborough’s and I don’t even smoke. The Gelato (Ice Cream) is the smoothest ice cream I have ever ate, and will also be on my list to get again numerous times while in Florence. Our side of our window, along with the DOME, are street singers and violinist who play “Beauty and the Beast, and Desperado” until late hours of the night.

I am glad the weather has not been bad and around the fifty mark. I am surprised by all the walking I have done, and how many steps I have taken; around 50,334 all together just in three days. At home I would average maybe 5,000 a day! I can only image the rest of the experience in Italy to be even more steps!

Yesterday ended the Holiday season for Italy, soon they will be taking down the Epiphany lights and décor, although I am glad I got a few pictures of the décor. The streets are busy and packed right now, but tomorrow everyone will be returning to work and school, and will not be so congested. I am excited for what is in the future for Italy, and I am taking in all experiences that come along.

Attached are photos taken from Gelato Shoppe, Michealangelo Square, DOME, Pisa, and a heart shaped pizza that was very good.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



Tot: 0.091s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 54; dbt: 0.0404s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb