Preparing for Vietnam


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Kansas
October 14th 2005
Published: October 15th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Preparing for my 90-day biking trip of Vietnam.

Yesterday I learned how to break my bike down and pack it in a box. My bike weighed in at 38 pounds and the box weighed 6 pounds so weight wise I am ok. However my overall dimensions are 92 inches and that is way over the limit. It is going to cost me at least 80 dollars for the bike to go with me.

I have way too much gear for this trip. I made a test trip to Pawnee Rock last weekend to test all the gear. I camped out on the “Rock,” pitched my tent and cooked supper. I forgot the “Rock” is a popular place for lovers so I had visitors all-night. Also during the night I heard three rifle shots. The sound of the rifle was close but I didn’t hear any bullets whizzing by so I guess they weren’t shooting at me. When I got home my son-in-law Scott reminded me that a person was murdered on the “Rock” a few months ago.

Anyway, I guess all the advice I have been getting about having a traveling companion was brought home. My friend Dzung at the Vietnamese Embassy has offered to pair me up with a Vietnamese Veteran and that looks good at this point.

I accomplished my goal to test my equipment. I found out I had too much equipment and I am downsizing for this trip.

We will be through Milo harvest soon and then our district conference in early November. I have less than a month to go for the big ride.




Advertisement



Tot: 0.051s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0227s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb