Day 0 of Road Trip to the Southwest


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Kansas » Overland Park
December 15th 2005
Published: December 16th 2005
Edit Blog Post

SW TRIP ROUTE MAPSW TRIP ROUTE MAPSW TRIP ROUTE MAP

High level trip route map.
Winter is here in Overland Park, Kansas. We just had over 10 inches of snow last week from a snow storm that hit the whole midwest and northeast. It is time for me to learn from our feathered friends and start the southward migration. I have 2 weeks vacation left from work and not much money left in the bank. So, it is an easy choice for me to choose driving than flying. I am so jealous on you - Mr. Goose, if only I could fly. With the choice of transportation set, a road trip plan is born. I will be driving from the heartland of the country to the Southwest - New Mexico and Arizona - along the way passing panhandle Texas and Oklahoma. I had a side plan to cross the US-Mexican border at Nogales, AZ to the lovely Mexico (to work on my US entry visa), only had to cancel it after I had been told that I would need a Mexican permit to enter the country - it takes 4 - 6 weeks to get the permit. My British passport didn't help me too much here. Well, I will make another attempt next February - this time via El Paso, TX. Back to the trip.

I decided to ignore most of interstate highways and in favor of the old US highways. Interstate highways were built for quickly moving traffic from A to B but not designed for life enriching experience. For the purpose of my trip, I want to see more and experience more along the way so I have something truly my own to remember. Smaller US highways with small towns built along the way from the past decades will sure beat the boring interstate highway in this area. Unlike the freeways, the two lanes US highways designed to encourage you to stop along the way - to read some fading historical plaque, to eat at local small restaurants, to sleep in motel with rooms shaped like Indian teepees, or to visit less known local special sites. I will mostly follow the old route 66 (the mother road) and the Pacific South US 80 with several detours to some scenic destinations.

I ordered tons of maps and tour guidebooks from AAA. In addition, armed with two road trip books - Road Trip USA by Jamie Jensen and National Geographic's Guide to Scenic Highways and Byways, I think I am quite set with information. For lodging, I will mostly stay with low budget motels - with occasional camping at some of the national parks. For food, I will eat along the way. The road trip guidebook has a lot information on local restaurants. It would be good to try local flavors. Of course, I have my last resource - the trusted CAN FOOD that will be sitting in my car trunk!

I was supposed to leave today. There were some work issues that I needed to close before I was comfortable to leave. Plus, I need to get all the supplies for the trip - camping gears, can food, water, first aid, most importantly, pillows and sleeping bag. So, I will be leaving first thing tomorrow morning.

Here is my high level Itinerary (subject to change):

From: Overland Park, Kansas
To : Cadillac Ranch, Amarillo, Tx and Tex the Giant Cowboy, Canyon, TX
To : White Sands Natl Monument, White Sands National Monument, Nm
To: Tombstone, Benson, and Nogales, AZ
To : Mount Lemmon Drive, Tucson, Az
To : Tucson Mountain Park and Saguaro National Park, Tucson, Az
To : Phoenix, AZ
To : Globe to Show Low trail - Cibecue Falls and Seneca Falls, AZ
To : Oak Creek Canyon, Sedona, Az
To : Monument Valley Navajo Tribal Park, Monument Valley Navajo Tribal Park, Az
To : Painted Desert, Petrified Forest National Park, Az
To : El Malpais, NM
To : Old Town, Albuquerque, Nm
To : Santa Fe, Nm - Turquoise Trail
To : Tao, NM - the enchanted circle
To : Oklahoma City Natl Mem, Oklahoma City, Ok
To : Overland Park, Kansas

Total Distance : 3175.9 miles (5111.0km)

From National Geographic's Guide to Scenic Highways and Byways: "Each byway has its own character, its own promise. But all of them will give you back that sense of adventure that Walt Whitman proclaimed a century ago in his 'Song of the Open Road': 'Afoot, light-hearted, I take to the open road. Healthy, free, the world before me.' "

Advertisement



19th December 2005

Stay on your belonged safe path...
Good to hear that you put work on hold for once in your career and take a long needed fresh air road trip to the south. Hopefully, stories of the southward people will help you travel back to your safe and unbeaten path. The magnificient and awe inspiring sights and scenes will enhance your view of life. Take care and till then...
12th January 2006

this is such a cool site ... I didn't realize that you'd be documenting as you went along! I traveled some of these ways not too long ago when taking my daughter Rita to school out in Arizona and on the trip home.

Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0437s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb