State Side Prep


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Kansas » Lawrence
January 28th 2012
Published: January 28th 2012
Edit Blog Post

After a year and a half of working my way onward through the application process, I am finally going. Note to the wise, cross your t's and dot your i's during the application process or it will bite you in the butt. Because of a missing date on a medical form, I was delayed another 3 months before getting my invitation.

And this is my ideal situation!

I will be absurdly busy with my three main projects in Zambia which are agricultural sustainability (going from village to village assessing needs and developing solutions), environmental education (working with school teachers to create environmentally focused clubs to help cut back on the deforestation), and micro-entrepreneurship (shadowing merchants and creating working as well as supporting successful ones). I can't tell you which one I am more excited for, because I am more prepared for the first two, but the latter will be an important lesson.

From my understanding, most volunteers get four months to prepare; I got six weeks, so I have rushed around non-stop to find out all I can while buying necessities like waterproof bags and school supplies, and turning in all of the Peace Corps paperwork which is much more than the application itself.

More later.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0364s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb