I've revived the old travel blog!


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Kansas » Iola
November 11th 2008
Published: November 12th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hi, friends! You've just received an email informing you of how I've updated my blog. You may be thinking "What blog?" or "Why am I receiving this update?" or maybe you've thought nothing of it. But either way, I just wanted to explain what it's all about.

As most of you know, since my days at language school in Cuernavaca over two years ago, I've become accustomed to blogging about my bigger travel adventures. And so I am preparing to do the same again here soon, using the same site as before. This time my tales will be about the month long trek Anne and I will be making through Peru, Bolivia, and Ecuador. And so in thinking that you might be interested in reading about our South American Adventure (either because you already told me you would be or because I'm hoping you might be), I've added you to my list of "subscribers," thus ensuring you'll receive an email about my latest updates. This means you won't have to check it on your own every day, which I imagine none of you would do anyway, with the exception of my parental unit. So, with that in mind, if you DON'T want to get these updates, just let me know. No hard feelings. The last thing I want to do is force my verbal diarrhea in your face. But if you're interested in having that, or are just so used to it that you wouldn't know how to survive without it, then please read on. As always, I will try to keep it as entertaining as it is informative!

My adventure begins tomorrow when I fly to DC to meet up with Anne. Oddly enough, this will be the first time Anne and I will be together in the United States. All of our time together has always been on Mexican soil, from our first meeting in Cuernavaca to climbing pyramids outside of Mexico City through an all-night adventure in Pátzcuaro on Day of the Dead to almost being pulled out to sea by the waves of Puerto Escondido! It's safe to say we're never bored together. So she'll collect me somewhere in DC after I meet up with Kris for dinner (she's my dear friend from Nogales who just moved to DC!!) and then we'll prepare for our early departure. At 5:45am on Thursday we'll be on our way to Lima, Peru. The tentative plan is to spend two nights in Lima before flying to Cuzco. We'll be there until Monday when we'll head to Aguas Calientes so that we'll be ready to catch the first bus out at town at 5:30am on Tuesday, destination Machu Picchu!! We're kinda rushing to get there so that we can 1) miss the fog that will come with the rapidly approaching rainy season, and 2) spend my birthday up there! Woo hoo! After that day the itinerary will hopefully gel together on its own, as we meet fellow backpackers and gain a better idea of what's worth seeing and what's worth skipping. As always, Flexibilidad is key.

I'm not sure how frequently I'll get to computers to update this, but I will do my best to not get too behind. When I get the chance, I'll put pictures up on Picasa. The link to that is:

http://picasaweb.google.com/etoland

Welp, gotta finish packing. I just received the coolest llama stocking cap in all the land (gracias a mi mamá), so I feel ready for the trip! Adios for now.... :-)





Advertisement



Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 16; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0518s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb