Corn, the river and Amish


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Iowa
September 1st 2009
Published: September 1st 2009
Edit Blog Post

AmishAmishAmish

I took this as I passed.
Day 6

Started out heading to the Mississippi River.

On my way I encounter life in the heartland. Corn and clouds, Amish and Jewish, and lots of American Flags.

I rode through one small town and was somewhat surprised to see dozens of Jewish men and boys in full dress, with the garments hanging out, walking along the roads. Three min later I was out of town and continued.

I dropped down into the river valley to the roadside view spot. I was taken aback by the sound of crickets. It was about 9:30.. I think.. and they were in abundance, drowning out the car noise.

I continued down to the river road and followed this as best I could, bouncing back and forth across the river several times in the next 150 +/- miles. I saw a few barges loaded with what all I can think of, corn. Did I mention that they grow corn here?


Lastly I pulled into Fort Madison Iowa.



Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement

First lookFirst look
First look

A very nice road side view.


1st September 2009

Mississippi
Miss I ss I pp I! You're hauling ass, Reverend. Looked on the map and saw a munitions plant. Mr. Bill afraid to stop by? Looks like a great ride. How's the food? -Reverend Bill
1st September 2009

Amish girls are hot!
I had corn last night, I wonder if it was a head you passed (I mean "drove by" in the last few days?) When I was eating it - it was going "noooo noooo nooooo don't eat me!!!" But I did anyway. Looks and sounds like an evyable ride Chuck, wish I was there. I keep spelling m-i-s-s-i-s-s-i-p-p-i and think of you! Lots of Love!! Scott

Tot: 0.092s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 7; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0537s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb