Day One


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Iowa » Des Moines
December 31st 2012
Published: December 31st 2012
Edit Blog Post

Mommy was up all night, so getting out of bed at 6 AM wasn't too hard for her to do. The humans ran around the house for 2 hours in preparation, then Mom carried me to the car. I was NOT happy. Although there was a nice studio apartment made for me in the back of the Prius, I wanted to do nothing but hide. In my studio there was my bathroom, my wicker (power) basket, and lots of space covered with a warm furry blanket to lay in the warm sun. I chose to ride on the floor between the front and back seats. Mom didn't like that, cuz it was cold. She kept on trying to warm me up....then she discovered why it was so cold. Daddy put the snow brush back there, and my bed was wet from the melting snow. So she took Dad's corduroy jacket and made a new dry bed out of it. I rode there all the way to Des Moines Iowa. Our pet friendly motel is La Quinta, and it's clean and nice. It's nicer than we 3 expected it would be. In the lobby was a big old golden, just like my old friend Gracie. All sorts of dogs are at this motel. I love, love, love the motel. I have 2 beds to sleep in, or I can use a chair or my power-basket. After I went potty for the first time all day, I ate and explored, then napped. We haven't seen much of Des Moines, it's dark by 4:30. Dad and Mom said the sunset was spectular, all orange on the glistening snow. Too bad Dad or Mom didn't take a picture of it, cuz it had two sun-dog rainbows on either side of the sun. Mom saw "The Mines of Spain" sign on the road, and is curious what that is. She also saw vultures and eagles and stupid McDonald workers. So it's now time to sleep as we have another 8 or 9 hour drive to Witchita Kansas tomorrow. Tomorrow is New Years Eve, so happy happy joy joy to all my friends. ~~Gizmo MonkeyBoy Voodennoggin

Advertisement



Tot: 0.05s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0307s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb