Leaving Tomorrow!


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Iowa » Des Moines
December 20th 2006
Published: December 20th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Tomorrow is the big day! I'm out of mind trying to get last minute details done before we leave tomorrow. This past week has been really good and really busy. Somthing really wonderful happened to The Husband and me, and it's made financing this trip much easier. It's nice to be able to travel and do what you want to do and not worry about the budget so much. It's never happened to me before, so I'll try not to come home broke as a joke.

For the most part, I'm done with my planning. The person that was supposed to watch my house while I'm gone backed out today (and didn't call), so I had to scramble to find someone at the last minute. Ozy's stuff is ready to go, and he likes the new crate we bought to take on the trip. I was afraid he'd chew it up.

Now I just need to clean my house, get keys made for the house sitter, pick up the rental car, and pack.

We bought a MP3 player to take along on the ride. It was a hard choice between a 30 gig Ipod and a Creative Zen, but we chose the Zen. I love it so far-the picture quality is far superior to Ipod, and it can do so much more. But its been a bugger trying to find accessories for this gadget-Ipod stuff is everywhere. But I think we've got it done. We have about 10 gigs of MP3's on our hard drive at home (all obtained via legal channels-ha ha ha) and about 4000 CD's in our collection, so it's going to be hard to narrow this to 30 gigs.

The Husband doesnt' like to fly, so we roadtrip everywhere. Thank goodness we get along, or we'd kill each other being in the car so close together. A part of any good roadtrip is music. These are our top choices for essential road trip music.

1. Police Box Set-a must. It's the period when Sting was still Sting and not some idiot making music with a lute and Bryan Adams. *sigh* Where hast ye gone?

2. Steely Dan box set-Fagan and Becker are ugly, antisocial, and cynical as heck, and somehow that appeals to me.

3. Prince-Sign O' The Times. When I was a kid, my best friend and I got a copy of this on vinyl. It made me instantly cool. I would probably give my right pinky toe for a ticket to the Super Bowl to see him perform live.

4. Esthero-Breath From Another is quite possibly the best album of the 1990's. If you find a copy somehwere please give it a listen.

5. Kayne West, Jay-Z, Common, and Little Brother-my favorite hip hop artists.

6. Anything by Mary J. Blige, because I LOVE her.

7. Level 42-I'm such a geek. Level 42 Rocks!

8. Blaze-Nautral Blaze and Blue 6-Blue 6. I don't expect anyone to know this group because it's dance music. But if you get sleepy in the car, just put on these two CD's and you're ready to roll.


Also, we've made some slight changes to the schedule. We're still leaving tomorrow, but instead of stoping the first night in Mississippi, we're stopping in Arkansas, just south of Memphis. I don't know what I was thinking trying to make it all the way to Mississippi-told you I've been a little crazy lately. Other than that the schedule remains the same.

My next post should be from Arkansas, and I'll post pictures of our first day. Have fun, be safe and happy holidays!

Andrea

Advertisement



Tot: 0.125s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0888s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb