A2 RIHLA #21


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Illinois
March 6th 2013
Published: March 7th 2013
Edit Blog Post

If I lived back in 1492 based on food, I would rather live in the New World because there are a whole variety of foods in the part of the world. While there is a better variety of foods located in the Old World that I like, food found in the New World caters more towards my liking. Beans, cashews, chili peppers, cocoa, potatoes, tomatoes, and vanilla are just some of the things that are found in the New World that I happen to like. I quizzed my mom to guess what 5 ingredients belonged in the Old World and what 5 ingredients belonged in the New World. The 5 New World ingredients I used were avocados, chili peppers, corn/maize, tomatoes, and vanilla. The 5 Old World ingredients I used were bananas, cabbages, garlic, lettuce, and rice. My mom guessed 4 out of 5 New World ingredients correctly, with vanilla being the 1 she got wrong, and 2 out of 5 Old World ingredients correctly, with bananas, cabbages, and lettuce being the 3 she got wrong, which meant that my mom guess 6 out of 10 ingredients correctly. My mom's recipe for guacamole consists of 6 ingredients: avocados, chili peppers, cilantro, tomatoes, and onions for the actual guacamole, and corn/maize to make chips to dip into the guacamole. The recipe contains 2 Old World and 4 New World ingredients: cilantro and onion being the 2 Old World ingredients, and avocados, chili peppers, tomatoes, and corn/maize being the 4 New World ingredients. Based off of my mom's recipe, she mainly cooks food with ingredients from the New World, which is no surprise since both my mom and dad were born in Mexico and usually make food that is from their homeland or from other parts of the New World. Food, whether it is from the New or Old World, are very diverse, but most of all delicious to many different people.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.036s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0201s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb