The Camino Awaits ?


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Illinois
August 19th 2012
Published: August 19th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

The Camino de Santaigo - The Way of Saint James

Start in MadridTrain from Madrid to PamplonaBus from Pamplona to St. Jean Pied de PortStart the Camino in St. Jean Pied de Port, FranceEnd at the Atlantic Ocean in Fisterra, Spain

Hi,

Well I am almost packed and ready to go. I've checked all my stuff and I know I missed something, but I will not realize that until I'm outbound. So what is this all about? I don't have a clue. I saw a good movie (The Way) and decided what the hell, I'll give this a shot. So I guess I'll walk 650 miles from the south of France to the Atlantic coast in the north of Spain through the Pyrennes Mountians. Have I trained? Hell YES I did. I walk 6 miles a day in Lemont, Il. What better training does one need to walk 650 miles I ask. Am I in peak physical condition? Hell Yeah I am, I walk 6 miles a day in Lemont, Il. Actually I do walk a minimum of 6 miles a day and I lost around 54 pounds. Also I'm not in a hurry, so I will make it. Follow me and see what I'm up too while your sitting at home drinking a beer or taking a crap playing with your Ipad.

My adventure starts when I Fly to Zurich Switzerland and then onto Madrid Spain. I'll stay in Madrid for a day and a half and just hang out. See what has to be seen I guess. From there I grab a bullet train (200 mph) north to Pamplona. The bulls ran last month (July) in case you didn't know, and yes I'm dumb, but not that dumb. I don't mess with bo bulls. From Pamplona, I catch a bus north to St. Jean Pied de Port France. This is the starting point. No I don't speak French or Spanish, I only speak United States? As someone told me once, I speak the universal language....... Money. I'll be going by myself? I really wanted to try this thing out solo. Now I know what your probably thinking? This asshole is going to walk 650 miles by himself, through 2 countries, both of which he can't speak in any of their native tongues, walk across mountians, and he's 54 years old, was out of shape, and never did anything like this before. Damn right I am...... And for those of you who know me? You know I'll make it. Life as I have found out is too short and we all have to grab onto it, so I am. I'll walk around 18 miles a day and this adventure should take me around 45 days to complete. O and by the way, I'm not camping, I'll spend my nights in hostels. I am 54, not 24.

So what do I want to get out of this? Just 1 thing I hope for. I would like to get people to quit smoking cigarettes. I lost someone very special to me over a fucking pack of cigarettes and I just have a hard time computing that. I can't think of 1 good thing that comes out of smoking and yes I used to smoke. I'm not a whiney reformed smoker. Well, now I am! Cigarettes just make you smell bad and get cancer. So here is my challenge.

On September 1, 2012, I am going to walk 650 miles. For everyday I walk, I ask that you try to quit smoking.... One day at a time! All I ask is that for everyday that I walk, you don't smoke. Simple. It costs you nothing and actually saves your life! Just don't smoke everyday I walk. If I quit or give up? Have at it. Smoke your ass off. I figure if an old, overweight, fat ass, non foreign speaking, idiot can walk 650 miles through the mountians, you should be able to quit smoking for every day I walk.

Try this? Grab a jar and throw $ in it for each pack of smokes you didn't buy that day and after 45 days? Go buy yourself something nice or go on your own adventure. Simple. Just do it for yourself. Do it for Deb!

I'm especially hoping my Son, Daughter, Daughter in Law, and Sister do this and toss those fucking things out. I love them all very much! At $8.00 a pack U.S., that's $360.00 each. You can have a pretty good time with that money. In 45 days the urge should be gone, and you will have quit.

So just put your name down, that you will try to quit, and when I'm finished, we will see how many people actually quit. Save your life! Please tell your friends and family also and have them follow me. Maybe we can attract people from all over the world to quit smoking. Lung Cancer kills more people per year than all the other cancers COMBINED! Remember.... It doesn't cost anything.

Please do it for Deb, had she been alive today maybe we would be going on this adventure together.

Advertisement



20th August 2012

Good Luck!
Good luck my friend, we will be thinking of you. Stay safe & enjoy your journey. Love ya, the Fox Family!
20th August 2012

Be Careful
Be careful when your in France. I don't think the Frogs like Americans too much. Not to mention ones that don't speak their language. I hope you have too much fun! Nick (BNP)
20th August 2012

quitting
As long as your walking I will not smoke, love you Uncle Rich and good luck xoxoxo
20th August 2012

I am so proud of you.
Today is 1643 days that I stopped that horrible habit. It one of the things I am so proud of myself for. It was kind of dumb of me to get chemo and walk out and light a smoke. ooph. Go wander and enjoy! I will be waiting for updates. I lov you Uncle Rich!
20th August 2012

We love you man.....
We will be with you every step, block, mile or mountain. Be safe and know that we love you. The Gilpin Family..
20th August 2012

Your trip
Hi Rich, your blog works great. I just wanted to let you know that I'll be watching for your blogs and tracking your progress. I think this is a great idea and hope your family members take this seriously and put those damn things down. I smoked for thirty years and stopped almost ten years ago. I will pass your message on to my loved ones as well. Take care Buddy and have fun.
20th August 2012

You got this
I'm very proud of you.
21st August 2012

Excellent Idea
Just wanted to say best of luck and what a great idea! John has quit now for a few years - he had smoked for over 30 years....I have also quit after many years of stupidity.....now my youngest Anthony is smoking....argh.....what a bad choice he has made. I printed this out for him and hoping it inspires him to quit now before he does too much damage. Thanks for the inspiration! I hope you enjoy your adventure and it gives you great memories.
21st August 2012

As we both know? Cigarettes kill. I just don't ever want anyone to go through that. Thanks for coming to the wake, I truly appreciate it. Follow the blog and enjoy. It a looooong walk.
21st August 2012

Pictures
Looking forward to some great pictures!
22nd August 2012

Good luck!
I think this is a terrific thing you're doing! WTG!! I wish that Tom would quit smoking but he's not ready to take that step. Cigarettes almost took my mom when I was 12 but God intervened - someone stepped on her toe and it wouldn't heal. Because of that toe, the doctor found 2 blockages and did a bypass. It saved her life and she quit cold turkey. I'm thankful every day that my mom lived. Be careful and stay safe. I hope this trip brings you peace. I think it will be interesting to follow your journey!
28th August 2012

I am on board. Have a safe trip I love you. Your favorite sister
3rd September 2012

Training ???
Six miles a day in Lemont. I would say you are olympic material!!! Good Luck Man!! ( :
6th September 2012

Hi Cuz, so very proud of you. Enjoy and be safe in your journey. I was smart and stopped 15 years ago.

Tot: 0.139s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0934s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb