Wandering Jacksonville's Business Districts


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Illinois
October 9th 2008
Published: October 9th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I begin my travel blog in the middle--in the middle of the US, in the middle of the great State of Illinois, the middle of economic disaster, the middle of the semester in what I hipoe is the middle of my career and my life and my travels.

I wander Jacksonville sometimes, hoping to see something I haven't and always succeeding. The last time I did this, about two weeks ago, I noticed there are more businesses springing up. I saw signage all over town in storefronts, in the windows of houses, in lawns. "Lawn Mower Repair" has given way to "Fire Extinguishers Sales and Service." My favorite business here, though, is the Eli Bridge Co., maker and distributor of Ferris Wheels for the last century or so.

Okay, maybe my real favorites are the local antique dealers and antique malls, and the thrift stores too. I don't think I'm the only one to visit these places...there are new B&B's in town to cater to the history buffs who come to visit the underground railroad sites and walk in Lincoln's footprints.

I'll write again soon and tell of some of the history of the place...



Advertisement



Tot: 0.056s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0279s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb