Back home


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Illinois
July 9th 2005
Published: July 9th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Well, the first lesson is to take the power cord for your laptop. And the plan worked. Got the recall taken care of. When the coach was back at our daughter's house, we smelled gas, as in gasoline. Foud it dripping off the frame rail in the rear. The fill pipe for the gas tank runs right above where the leak seems to be coming from. Call the RV place and they say, "Bring it over." So, I take the five minute drive over there. As soon as I get on the Interstate, I see a huge plume of black smoke ahead. I'm thinking, "That's me with my gas leak in 5 minutes."

About a mile before my exit, just as I come out from under a bridge, is a two and a half story house, fully engulfed in flames. Three fire trucks standing by, but it is far too late to do any good.

The gas leak was the gas line to the aux generator. It was stretched taut and where it ran thru the frame (with no protection) it had chafed & cracked. Once it was replaced, we were on our way to the campsite with one daughter & one grand-daughter.

We had three very pleasant days at Grandpa's Farm in Richmond, IN. Quiet & peaceful, until the semi-permanent weekend crowd showed up on Friday evening. Apparently, they've been doing this for quite awhile, but that is how the campground stays in business, te regulars, I mean. No complaints as they weren't that noisy.

Headed back to Illinois on Saturday morning. An uneventful six hour drive.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.091s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0393s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb