Driving to Ohio, with a Stop in Illinois: Family, Pizza, and Haunted Trails - Oh My!


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Illinois » Oak Lawn
July 20th 2023
Published: July 22nd 2023
Edit Blog Post

Palermo's on 95thPalermo's on 95thPalermo's on 95th

My favorite pizza!
We're driving to Ohio for the weekend for a family reunion. From Des Moines, our destination in Ohio is about an 11 hour drive. My parents and brother's family started out going westward into Illinois but then cut down southward. We went a different route. We decided to start the drive on Thursday and stop in the Chicago area to see my aunt and uncle (on the other side of the family, so they aren't attending the reunion). We met them for pizza at Palermo's on 95th. I love seeing them. We grew up very close with them, as their two kids are roughly the same age as my siblings and me.

After dinner, I took the family to Haunted Trails. Haunted Trails is where we went for mini golf when I was a kid. Our kids have enjoyed mini golf lately, so I wanted to take them. The golf course is a little kitschy but also a lot of fun. Some of the effects were missing (like I'm pretty sure there used to be a vampire and a mummy somewhere), but most of it was the same. We enjoyed our little overnight in the Chicago area, and it was a good place to stop for an overnight on our trek to Ohio.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.196s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 17; qc: 83; dbt: 0.1465s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb