Prep Work


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Illinois » Grayslake
June 4th 2010
Published: June 4th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Euros and sweet hat.Euros and sweet hat.Euros and sweet hat.

It has a pocket.
Well, I got my Euros yesterday (thanks BoA), I got my Italian cell phone (thanks Eliza!), my passport is in order and I have a sweet hat, so I guess this is actually happening. I have to finalize my enrollment in the classes offered at the dig, you know... by paying... but other than that, I just have to get my butt to the airport on time.

I'm realizing more and more that I'm probably a little bit screwed. Maybe that's the fear talking, but I don't speak the language, I won't know anyone on the continent and I have limited financial resources. Fun times.

I got the list of excavation participants the other day, and the only other students staying for 6 weeks are boys, so I'm hoping I get my own room. And that there's internet (I plan on e-mailing the site coordinator). And that I can feed myself.

There are not that many people participating in this shindig. 5 undergrads, including me. I want to travel to Rome and maybe a few other places over the weekends, so I hope they're interested in joining me. I hate traveling alone.

Basically, this whole thing is one big question mark. I don't know where I'm living, I don't know what I'll be doing, I don't know the people or the language, I don't know how to get around, I don't know if I'll have contact with the outside world. Oy.

The weather is another thing. It's supposed to be hellishly hot, but then they say maybe not if you're in the mountains. It's supposed to be freakishly sunny, but maybe not if the rain won't quit. And then there're the vipers. Yes. I said vipers. I'm never going in the long grass. Ever. On pain of death. I suppose I can always turn to drink...

Well, it'll certainly make a good story. If I survive.

Advertisement



16th June 2010

DOOM!
That's just the fear talking. Or maybe you are going to your DOOOOOOOOOM!!!!! I just like saying DOOM.. sorry.

Tot: 0.061s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0345s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb