the world is small


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Illinois » Evanston
June 28th 2008
Published: June 28th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Finally, something blog worthy besides my whining about how stressed I am! I recently reconnected with a good friend from high school, Sarah. Sarah spent time traveling the world and used this very site to log her travels. She and I exchanged a few emails before the move was planned. I wrote to let her know I won't be at the 20th reunion afterall, because...I'm moving to China (will the shock value of that statement ever wear off?) So, she has been to Shanghai, and has great friends there. These friends teach at an international school. I wrote back asking if by any chance it was OUR international school. It is! So overnight I have connected with an American couple living in Shanghai--teaching at our kids' school!!! I'm very excited. I'm thinking that comes across, but just in case.


I heard from Mark and he is doing well. Trip over was fine. He has gotten this trip down to a science. I asked him if the flight attendants are greeting him by name at this point. He's gone something like 7 or 8 times in the last 18 months. He got his health exam--step 1 in a multi-step process to get his work/residency paperwork done. He also looked at apartments. He also got a Chinese cell phone. Now he can make local calls in Shanghai without having his calls routed through Evanston, Il.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 29; dbt: 0.034s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb