August 1st is "the date"


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Illinois » Evanston
June 10th 2008
Published: June 10th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Everyone keeps asking for our official move date, and I avoid the question, since I'm feeling unprepared for the actual move. Well, it's August 1. I kept thinking "August" and Mark was thinking August 1st. School starts the 25th, it takes a week just to adjust to the time change...so we gotta get out there and get ourselves settled. I finished the school applications, and Mark scanned and converted them to PDFs so we can email everything more easily (and cheaply). Hopefully, we will have no issues with getting into the school we chose.

Between now and then we need to get a lot done. So far, we've successfully celebrated 1 of 3 summer birthdays. Nathan had both Aunt Julie and Uncle Matt (a Slaven siblings trifecta in a single location). Thank goodness they were here, because the party was supposed to be outside, and it had to be held indoors due to rain. Matt helped with the craft project--not a huge hit with the attendees, but they tolerated it and gave it their all. Julie came up with creative indoor games to kill the time between failed craft and dinner. Mark grilled in the pouring rain and those boys and girls ate ALL of the food. I have never seen so many hotdogs, brats and burgers disappear so quickly. They acted like it had been days since their last meal. My homemade cake was a hit. The only thing I felt went "as planned" during the party. The kids had fun, though. Julie put it in perspective when she reminded me that back in the day, we had pin-the-tale on the donkey and cake. There were no goody bags, there was no craft project. Simpler times.

Sunday we went to the animal shelter to donate the gifts Nathan's friends brought to the party. Everyone brought great stuff, and the shelter was really excited by Nathan's donations. We took a tour of the shelter and Nathan got to meet some cats and kittens. While I thought we were clear on our purpose, the visit ended with a plea to adopt a 13 year old Siamese cat. I said we can't take a cat to China to which Nathan replied, why not, they make cages for pets to travel in...but we got through it. That boy loves animals. I am really proud of him. When I was 9, there's no way I would have been so willing to give up 11 gifts for ME.

This week will be a long series of bakeoffs. I started with the cake on Saturday. Then, Sunday night I had to bake cookies for Nathan's real birthday (Monday, June 9th). Of course, I didn't have to bake them, but since I'm home now, I felt like I really should. After a second (store bought) birthday cake tonight, I had to make cookies for Emily's school birthday celebration which is on Tuesday. I made them for Nathan, so of course, Emily expected homemade too. What she got was a shortbread cookie mix I had on hand...they went in the mixer and then oven. A cooling rack was also used. They are homemade 😊 Finally, tomorrow night I have to bake a cinnamon bread for the 1 hour school day on Wednesday that will involve a breakfast in Nathan's class. I think I'm supposed to make something for this parents coffee too but I am not gonna do that one. Enough is enough! I realized that if Chinese homes don't have ovens, I won't be expected to do much baking for the school. I am feeling okay with that!

Today, Emily had a picnic at school. Mark surprised her so I'm including a couple pics from today. She was so excited to have both of us there (especially Daddy). It was very sweet to see her face light up when he walked into the room.

Friday, I head to Phoenix to meet up with my dad and sister. We are spending 3 days together in Sedona in honor of my mom. It's hard to believe it's been 2 years. We are going to try to get together every year in a beautiful place. Sedona was a place we all visited together many years ago before any of the kids were on the scene. My heart aches that she is not here to share in the China adventure. I know she'd be so excited about it.
Perhaps next year, Laura and my dad will come to Asia for the annual ritual. I am sure we can find someplace beautiful.



Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

Uncle Matt and the kidsUncle Matt and the kids
Uncle Matt and the kids

Matt stopped in for a quick visit on his way home from a trip to Ireland!
visiting the animalsvisiting the animals
visiting the animals

Nathan got to meet some cats and kittens.
red rover, red rover, send Emily over!red rover, red rover, send Emily over!
red rover, red rover, send Emily over!

she didn't make it through the line...but good effort!


11th June 2008

How fun!
How fun it is to read about Nathan's party and see photos of the kids! A reminder that your blog is going to be full of news about THEM...Nathan's in-lieu-of-gifts gift idea is truly wonderful. You may have had a "failed craft project", as you put it, but you had a wildly successful gift giving. Great "once a year in a beautiful place" idea too. Your mom would love your Chinese adventure...and your blog.

Tot: 0.181s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 11; qc: 57; dbt: 0.0698s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb