O Hare Airport please, and step on it


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Illinois » DeKalb
December 27th 2008
Published: February 5th 2009
Edit Blog Post

So dark and early in the morning I woke up to face the long lines, sreaming children, the travelers fighting with over stuffed baggage and just general confusion. I would say stupid but that is not the right word.

The morning in was uneventfull, there were no protesters standing outside the door yelling at me to leave America and go back to Europe. Infact it was just foggy and warm. Infact the snow was melting and causing consern for flooding. The only downfall to warm weather is that the roads break up into masive potholes. I know that my Dad started having fun with driving around the breakups in the road.

Then at the airport, it was the typical good bye and have a good time, email when you have the chance. And they were off, Dad to dodge the holes and Mom to watch and think about what she would be doing over in Europe.

Traveling is easy, people make it harder than it is, the signs normaly are in English or its a picture.

HOW HARD IS IT!!!

For some its hard to explain I need to see your ID and Boarding pass. Hence the BIG sign that not only has this in words but as a picture as well... And there are the people who are having a bad day and think that they are the all mighty important ones of the world. Yes....I had to stand next to one of them at check in. What I might have said to the checkin gal and him is not worth repeating, but it was effective. I know that what I said made her day. Needless to say I had a pleasurable check in.

Airport security: Just think, I have been stripped away of all freedom and now am here to do the time. Prepare to be violated, then its not bad. In and out, on your way. But if you think that you are special they will get you.

Yes, I love to travel. I get to meet new people. That includes the ticket agent when your flight is delayed and you have a conection to make. Or the next airline ticket agent who could careless that you careless and only want to get home, and dont care how you get home but you want to get home for a beer. Yep, traveling is great. Did I forget to say my booked flight was delayed and I had to take the direct flight that I did not book because it was $150 more. It also left at 8 in the evening. Oh what to do, but read the nice book that I had bought at the Salvation Army for 50 cents. I just wanted to get on with it, I wanted to get home....In time..

Advertisement



Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0424s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb