All I want to do is have a beer


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Bavaria » Munich
December 28th 2008
Published: February 6th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Germany from the airGermany from the airGermany from the air

Just could not resist, home ate last. How I watched the houses pass under me with the enthusiasm of a child.
Flights are pointless to write about. If you have traveled in the past you know that the food sucks and that if you want beer its going to cost you a fiver. The best thing to do is pop in the earplugs and go to sleep.

Back at home 😊 you do not know how happy I was..... I feel as though I know this airport so well. It is a simple layout, the signs are pictures and just go with the flow. The customs are fast and great, when asked how long I would be in country I replyed until I can get a good beer or until the 5th when I leave for Dublin. It hit hit me that I was back home again. To speak of hopping countries and cultures as if nothing, thats european, more so a backpacker.

Once out of interigations, I found my bag sitting with a few others that had made it before there owners. My nice delay in Chicago meant that my bag would be placed in the system and it would or would not make the trip. I was lucky on this one, I got my bag back. In fact it breat me there.

In the Munich Airport in the 1st side, there are a few news paper stands, they sell beer!!!! Yes first thing I bought as soon as I was home, a good beer. In the center area they still had the Christmass Market set up. I walked around a bit looking at the sights and taking in the smells. Then it hit me, I dont like the markets all that much, its all the same crap year after year, town after town. For the unique item is a hunt. But I was not there for the market, I was there to see old freinds and to enjoy life again. So I was off to the train into the city. More importantly to Jens flat, I was only a few hours late.

The rest of the day was spent feeling the city and the love I have for her. From changing trains at Ostbahnhof (stop for clubbing nights) to getting to Kreillerstrasse (near Jens flat). Words do not put the emotions that I felt that day into prespective. The only thing i can say is that I was home and free. I felt as thought the past year I was away in America was spent in jail. The rest of the night we sat around drinking a few beers until we went into the city to the Hostel to say hi to who ever was still there.

Ingrid was still there, we had a beer and then took off to Flex. Ok only one year had past but it was a great feeling to see that the place had not changed, infact not a lot had changed sence I left. Well we got the old boss a bit happy and tippsy. It was a great night... The first day home and to pick up as though I had been away for only a few,,well months.

The next few days were spent this way, reliving the sights and sounds of home, with friends.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.098s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0504s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb