Chicago


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Illinois » Chicago
April 9th 2015
Published: July 3rd 2015
Edit Blog Post

Then I was off to Chicago, a 22 hour trip from Boston. The highlight of the ride was finishing the book Detroit. It was a nice read on a comfortable, sunny ride and I thank George for the gift. I’m putting it in the library at 7 Springs.

My cousin Duke picked me up and returned me to the train in his car (my brother’s dream car). He also took me to the post office and a gourmet market to stock up for my trip and he set up a connection for my Seattle stop.

My cousin, Lucille, didn’t go out while I was there and we hung out together in her bedroom watching tv. sharing history, enjoying each others company Her husband, Gene, was most hospitable: taking me to the bus to go downtown; taking me to the laundry; taking me to his favorite bar and mixologist; feeding us.

My space up stairs was expansive with its own bathroom and sitting room. I had a chance to lay back. Made another dog friend, Zoey, Lucille’s dog.

Spent a very pleasant few hours with my grandniece, Kai, and her fellow, Jeremy, at an Asian restaurant near Columbia College. Food so good I got some to take to Lucille. The area was full of activity and I wondered into an artist reception for 2 women photographers who documented African male style setters. All that with wine, too.

Left Sunday feeling refreshed.


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement



Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 45; dbt: 0.041s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb