Favorite Possession: My Lots-O-Huggin' Bear


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Illinois » Chicago
April 15th 2014
Published: April 15th 2014
Edit Blog Post

My favorite possession is my enormous teddy bear from Toy Story 3, which is Lots-O-Huggin' Bear. I consider him my favorite because he's really soft and adorable, even though he's evil, and he smells like strawberries. He is a fifteen inch teddy bear who has fur that is made from polyester. He requires much use of stitching and an abundance of cotton, which is what makes him so fluffy and cuddly. He is made from a company called Mattel, which is where other Disney toys and products are made. This corporation is found in China, where their sweatshops are located. I was somewhat shocked to find out that a simple teddy bear like mines was made from a sweatshop in China; it was unbelievable. It kind of makes me upset that a large corporation like Mattel that must make millions of money because of the production of Disney products is allowing their workers to receive minimum wage for long, tiring hours. However, I did kind of expected such a big corporation that manufactures Disney products to have sweatshops because it does not seem anything out of the ordinary for them to do so since a lot of other large corporations have had sweatshops. It makes me feel disappointed and a little guilty for having my Lots-O-Huggin' Bear knowing that there are exhausted people and children working in sweatshops that made my bear. I really thought that by now large companies would actually stop having sweatshops because of advanced technology, especially in China, but apparently I was wrong. I still love my teddy bear, but now I seem to have this burden of guilt after doing this research.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.167s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.039s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb