RIHLA #19


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Illinois » Chicago
February 26th 2013
Published: February 27th 2013
Edit Blog Post

1. In my opinion, this exerpt was written to show all of the bad things about Christopher Columbus. This explains in detail how Columbus terrorized and enslaved thousands of West Indie Natives. He was a very cruel person and he only did things that would put money into his own pockets.

2. My first reaction was after I read the title and I just thought sure why would we cancel Columbus day and it's a day off of school for me. But I had my second reaction after I read the second paragraph when it said that Columbus only ineracted with the Native for" The use of violence and slavery, the forced coversion of native peoples to christianity, and the introduction of host of new diseases that would have dramatic long term effects on native people in the Americas."( Columbus Controversy 2). after reading this I thought to myself why would I want to celebrate a evil coniving person. In fact, he also led the first ever Holocaust I learned this when I read that out of 250,000 natives on the island that started only a few hundred remained. Now the school day doesn't even matter because the way he is protayed is like Adolf Hitler. Also I'm also thinking that the author of this peice may have had a little bias when writing this because it only explains the negative things about Columbus and I'm sure he has done some great things in his life.

3.This connects to what we are learning in class because this unit is about exploration and Columbus was an explorer and we are learning about him in class.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0358s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb