A4 Rihla #19


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Illinois » Chicago
February 25th 2013
Published: February 26th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Hello fellow blogger's! Today's topic is the day of the dead. I read an article, Indigenous people wouldn't let 'Day of the Dead' die, and here's my response.

1. This article is about the celebration of the Day of the Dead. It gives knowledge on why, where, how, and who it is celebrated by. The article also speaks upon the history of the holiday and how Spaniards tried to take a day that had so much meaning to the native Americans.

2. My reaction to this article was the feeling of being unsurprised, yet disgusted. I wasn't surprised because I had prior knowledge on how the Spaniards treated the Native Americans. However, I was disgusted because it in my opinion taking something so special from someone is like taking their dignity and stealing their freedom.

3. This connects to class because we are currently learning about how the Spaniards are conquering the Native Americans and the overall interactions between them.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0466s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb