RIHILA #18: Is GPS All in Our Heads?


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Illinois » Chicago
February 18th 2013
Published: February 20th 2013
Edit Blog Post

1. Is GPS All in Our Heads? article talks about the human mind and how we, as humans, are able to develop a mental map for when we travel to places. When traveling to a new destination, many people study landmarks or somehting significant for when they return. This allows them to be able to remember how to reach this place with a shortcut or if there was a detour. GPS's only contradict a humans mind from remebering how to reach a destination. By studying a map and focus on our surroundings, we would get to places much faster.

2. I thought that this article is true. When I learn to travel Chicago on my own just by public transportation, I look at my surroundings so next time I want to revisit the place I know where or what to do. I can mentally create a map in my mind ot help guide me. In my opinion, I think a GPS is a waste of money because we could always get a map and study it. It helps our memorization skills and our survival skills.

3. This relates to class because within class we are always learning new things about different places. So we are required to use our memorization skills to create a mental picture in our mind to help guide us through each and every lesson.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0442s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb