A2 RIHLA#14


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Illinois » Chicago
January 3rd 2013
Published: January 3rd 2013
Edit Blog Post


• The contribution my hero, Mary Cortani, made to the world was helping returning war veterans adjust to life back home with the help of a service dog. Mary, being a veteran herself, felt very connected with the topic of veterans who were having troubles with life back in the states. Mary is the founder of Operation Freedom Paws a nonprofit organization that helps macth and train vetereans with service dogs.
• When I first heard Mary's story I was really impressed with the general idea of her organization. Wanting to be a Marine Corps officer, this story really gave me a taste of what may happen to me while im over seas and how I could live and adjust to life when I return. Honestly, i dont think Mary should be nominated. Though her cause is great, it doesnt affect the world as a whole.
• In the year 2012 I think my greatest contribution to the world be my decision to pursue a career in the military eventually affecting people in the outer most corners of the world.
• In the year 2022 my great initiative would be the contribution to the United States military, not only as a Major in the Marine Corps but as the engineer of a full body suit of armor that not only is full maneuverable but is also equipped with the best weapons and technology offered at the time.(similar to the Iron Man suit just easier to transport and use)



Link to the Article:http://www.cnn.com/2012/06/07/us/cnnheroes-cortani-veterans-dogs/index.html



Link to Mary's organization:http://operationfreedompaws.org/

Advertisement



Tot: 0.038s; Tpl: 0.007s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.017s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1004.2kb