A6 RIHLA #5


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Illinois » Chicago
October 14th 2012
Published: October 14th 2012
Edit Blog Post

1. How does Pericles define democracy? Pericles said that his ‘‘constitution is named a democracy because it is in the hand not of the few but of many’’ (The funeral oration of Pericles 1). This quote shows that because people had different opinions they made a democracy. Pericles also said that his laws secure everybody no matter what their opinion was. “Our laws secure equal justice for all in their private disputes and our public opinion” (The funeral oration of Pericles 1). He finally said that ‘’they carry the same spirit into their daily relations with one another” (The funeral oration of Pericles 1). This shows that no matter what other people think of each other by the end of the day they are all in the same team.

2. What does Pericles say it takes for a person to be a good citizen? Pericles said that “wealth to them is not mere material for vainglory but an opportunity for achievement” (The funeral oration of Pericles 2). This shows that money is an opportunity because you have to work in order to have money. Pericles also said that “they attend both to public and private duties” (The funeral orations of Pericles 2). This quote shows that they would attend any meeting to be a good civilian. Finally he said that they have to be brave. “The bravest are surely those who have the clearest vision of what is before them” (The funeral orations of Pericles 2).

3. If I were to travel back to the time of ancient Greece, I would prefer to live as a Spartan. I would be a Spartan because I liked their culture. I would like to be a Spartan because they created competition and I like competition. Another reason I would be a Spartan is because women of Sparta had the right to own property. Another thing that attracted me to be a Spartan if I were to travel back in time because seas linked the Greeks to the outside world.

4. In a questioner most of my answers were B’s. Since most of my answers were B’s I am most likely to be the goddess Hera. This goddess of marriage is not bad (as people say), but protective. She is true and does not like people who cheat and lie.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.103s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0731s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb