Rihla #30


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Illinois » Chicago
June 1st 2012
Published: June 1st 2012
Edit Blog Post

1)What is something you accomplished this year that you are proud of?

I am most proud of finishing my UIC ENG course with an A-. Comming into high school I absolutely hated Enlish and grammer and writing all together. however, I was good at it. i was in honors english class and made it into UIC ENG courses. I'm proud of this becuase I was able to finish strong. It was a tough class and iwas able to get a high grade in it. I worked hard for it though in the mornings insteasd of hanging out with friends I was in office hours with Mr.ELston or Dr.Lewis getting my paper checked, and that hard work paid off.

2) What was the nicest thing someone in our class did for you this year?

The nicestthing that someone did for me in classthisyear was when weused our rihla's to write best memories Sarah Meza wrote about me. it was sweet becuase she could have choosen anyother friend she had but took the time to write about memories we've had the past 4 years. she even went on to say that sheenjoys my stories about me getting hurt. it was just a real surprise to have someone write about me and it made me feel good inside it shows me that Sarah will be one of the people i really try and stay in contact with after high school.

3)If you could change one thing that happened this year, what would it be?

I would change the situation about the yearbook leaking out. as Editor in chief I took my work really seriously and I didn't like that someone would put it upfor others to see. I like the fact that the yearbook isa end of the year surprise for people to reflect on, and they kind of took that away by revealing some of the pages early. But things happen and you just have to get over it. The yearbook is still going to be amazing!

4)What is something that was hard for you at the start of the year, but is easy now?

THE IPAD!!! I hated the IPad's iw anted to cry on the first day. We were expected to automatically know how to use them and that first day I had finance and Mr.Fitz was going extra fast becuase he already knew how to use his but I didn't. so by the time I was figuring out how to get on one page Mr.Fitz was already on something else. Now though I can use my Ipad with no problem. I can keep up in class becuase i've been able to et use to it but also learn how to use all the apps on it.

5)What is your favorite part of the day in our class? Why?

I actually liked when Ms. HEld had to teach us somethin new and gave us a powerpoint at the front of the room. I liked it becuase i was able to improve my note taking skills. never used the notes on the IPad i went old school and had a notebook adn pencil. If you look at my history notebook you can see that at the beginnning i took few notes and at the end its pages of one topic. And writing down my notes really helped me for test becuase it was so much easier to study. I didnt have to go lookin into my upad for notes that were incomplete or missin i had everything in my notebook. I also liked improving my note taking skills becuase its really going to help me for my collee classes.

6)What are six adjectives that best describe this school year
test drive- since we are the first class everything we do is trial and error. we et the new teachers or new methods of learning

risk taking- I was ableto learn to take more risk. I created a senior leist for my self and I got to complete mostof it. Also I took the biest risk ever of moving out of state for colege which i would have never done if I hadnt gone to UICCP

Creative- I believe that this year we wer given the most creative projects to do in class. I thinkthat had to do becuase of the IPad but it allowed to be creative. WE got to make jingles, news broadcast, stories of the silk road, and powerpoints.

teamwork- As a student I felt that the whole senior class got seniorist ,but we all got closer together and pushed each other to finish high school and apply to colleges. we united more as a family this year and i'm happy about that.

memorable- we will always be FIRECATS! we will remember our senior year and all the memories we had with eachother adn those are friendships that we will try to keep.

Funny-I had some great moments with a lot of different teachers and friends. WE each had our silly/ nerdy/ ackward moments that made us who we are and we all accepted that about each other.

Final comments

I really am going to mis waking up and putting on my ugly uniform and going to see my extended family.

Good-Byeand best of luck to everyone

Advertisement



Tot: 0.101s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0597s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb