Rihla #30


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Illinois » Chicago
June 1st 2012
Published: June 1st 2012
Edit Blog Post

1. What is something you did this year that you think you will remember for the rest of your life?
I will always remember the trip to Rome this year. Going to Rome was an amazing experience and going with friends made it so much more fun. I had such a great time and made so many memories that I will never forget.

2. What was the most challenging part of this year for you?
The most challenging part this year was trying to stay focused. I felt like I gave into senioritis towards the beginning of the year, but once I realized the huge effect it had on my grades I tried to put more effort into my work. Second semester was definitely a better semester because I tried even harder to make up for first semester.

3. Of the books you read this year, which was your favorite? Why?
The devil in the white city by Erik Larson was my favorite book I read this year. I didn't have much time to read this year but this book was a book that I tried to make time for because it was really interesting. I liked it because it has history about Chicago and theres a mystery to go along with it.

4. What are six adjectives that best describe this school year?
I went through many ups and downs this year. At times I had the time of my life and at other times I wanted to give up. So six words that describe this year would be fun, stressful, exciting, sad, memorable, and crazy. This year was very different from all the years at UICCP, but that's what is going to make it memorable for me.

5. Knowing what you know now, if you could write a letter to yourself that would travel back in time so that you would receive it at the start of the school year, what advice would you give your younger self?
Dear Ashley,
You have a lot to look forward to your senior year. Do not get caught up in "senioritis". This is your last chance to raise your grades to where you want them to be. Senioritis will dig you into a hole that is extremely hard to get out of. You're almost done with school, don't mess up your senior year because of senioritis. Senior year will be hard, but its not impossible. Dont give up. Also, apply to colleges and scholarships early that way you can get it out of the way. It's stressful when you wait until the last minute to submit your college applications or scholarships. When you recieve your college decisions start thinking of which school you want to pick come May 1st. Contact your colleges. Make sure you have everything you need to make your decison. Do not wait until the last days of April to realize that you don't have an award letter or any other important piece needed to make your final decision. Visit the campus again, if possible, to make sure its the school for you. Take time to relax whenever you feel stressed out. Don't get stressed out. And lastly, enjoy your last year of high school! It will be over before you know it.

6. When you consider the rest of your life, what percentage of what you learned this year do you think will be useful to you?
I think about 50% of what I learned this year will be useful to me after college. I still have many years of school ahead of me to learn more, but UICCP definitely prepared me to continue my education and build on the knowledge I already have. The most important thing I learned at UICCP was to never give up even when it seems impossible because when you don't give up the feeling is so much more rewarding.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.061s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0417s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb