Day 4 May 13th. Chicago


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Illinois » Chicago
May 13th 2012
Published: May 20th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Day 4 Sunday May 13 Ow what a day of days this was going to turn out to be waking up in a strange apartment at 5:30am being spooned by our hostel rep sierra somthing tells me last night was a very eventful evening. Sierra and I were both still very drunk my with no sign of Michael I hoped he was on his way back to the hostel I rang him several times with no answer and txt him with little reward great three nights in I had lost my friend ow well I thought I'm sure he'll turn up it's like when you loose your keys they will turn up when ur not looking for them arriving in the hostel at 6:15am I immediately went to our shared room to look for Michael and in his bed was lying a ver big black man I desided it was best for both my safety and his sleep to not wake him to see if he was lying on top of my friend or had killed him for his bed instead I gathered our belongings quietly from our lockers and took them to check out of the hostel I had to check out early because we were ment to be going to watch the Manchester city game at the only place in town showing the game it was on a 9:00am we where ment to both be meeting Emma in the reception at 8:10am well I had a bagel and a drink and met Emma but still no sign of Micheal so I stuck to our plan and set off for the pub letting sierra know to tell Micheal where I am if she sees him come in well on the way to the station we bumped in a useless still drunk pathetic shell of a Michael . I turned him round and shoved him in the direction of the train station to go straight to the game. We both felt the affects of the vodka we had, and all the beers we had tucked away. As we arrived at the glob pub as the sun was beaming down we went in to the hot but vibrant pub smelling of spilt beer and swet as the antisipation of the biggest games of the season were about to unfold there where people everywhere but we found a seat and a jug ice water to keep topping up our cups and briefly relive our hangovers to be honest a loud hot pub is not the place for two tired hung over twenty one year old lads but in the next two hours the most epic football game unfolded. The moment city scored the final goal to win the league the entire place erupted drinks flying people screaming cheering and crying we truly could have been in the heart of a true city pub in Manchester I must say it was one of the best games I've seen in a long time at the final whistle house champaign was being poured everywhere and we left having had an amazing start to our day. Over the rest of the day we went to find somewhere to eat and headed to the greyhound bus station where we were to be ushered into different places by several different officials all of which were very unhelpful we finally got on the bus having waved Goodbye to our bags as they where left outside the bus as we got on we sat together watching dodgy character after dodgy character get on the bus we eventually we set off. The bus driver was funny and made a few light hearted jokes while telling us all the rules for the trip. When we made our first rest stop most of us got off the bus including michael and I we got back on but 5 to 10 minutes later we stopped again and the bus driver anounced a man near the back has had his phone stolen with the charger and if it was anyone on the bus own up as we are all going to miss our connections in Cleveland while we wait for the police to come out meaning we wouldn't get to buffalo on time well the whole bus was suddenly in uproar large aggressive women shouting, aggressive men saying it isn't even an iPhone or an expensive phone why you holding us up your not getting it back anyway. Information arises that two dodgy men that got of the bus at the stop didn't get back on and apparently convicts ride the buses under a sceam to go to the next prison this cause Micheal and I to be very worried the driver said the thief also took the mans charger and will probably just sell it well fortunately we learn this lesson early on as we both left our bags on the bus at the rest stop which could have ended in dire consequences fortunately we were lucky nothing was taken and we had learned a valuable lesson about keeping hold of our belongings.
The change at Cleveland took us to on route to buffalo on which we both caught up on some much needed sleep ready for the early arrival in buffalo where we shall attempt to ring our contact that we may be able to stay with. No hostel has been booked as of yet.
Rich

Advertisement



25th May 2012

you know it!
You spooned me first then I went and took a shower so I became big spoon. Also my apartment is fabulous, y'all will realize this if you come back to Chicago since I'm guessing my 2 couches are were you will be sleeping and your welcome for me introducing you to a fantastic football pub. I have wonderful taste.
30th May 2012

eventful
Full on start to your adventure, can you keep it up?Any photos of bus?

Tot: 0.169s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.1278s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb