RIHLA #26


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Illinois » Chicago
April 16th 2012
Published: April 16th 2012
Edit Blog Post

RIHLA #26
--> Create a TOP TEN list of the best experiences you've had or things that you like about UIC College Prep. Each idea must be expressed in complete sentences:

#1- friends: Throughout my four years in UIC college prep the students have been great advisors that helped me socially and academically. Whenever I need help I can always relay on each student in UIC especially my friends since I know them better and we are going through the same thing academically.

#2- teachers: The teachers in UIC college prep is what I appreciate the most about being in that school because without their determination and encouragement I would have not have lasted in that school because their help is what allowed me to do good in school. Even though sometimes I do not agree with the amount of homework that the teachers give us,I still appreciate that they are doing it so the students can survive in college.

#3- trip to Italy : This was the best experience I had in UIC college prep because I got to visit the most beautiful country in all of the world and even got to learn more about the history of ancient Rome which I am most interested in. The Italy experience not only was a good experience to learn about history but also to get to know my peers better too.

# 4- Student of the semester award: Each year I always get awarded for a student of the semester award which is a great experience to go through since you feel good about yourself when your teachers recognizes you for being a hard working student.this year I was rewarded with a capstone student of the semester award which was great.

#5- cross country: Being in a sport is what allowed me to meet many students in my school because if I was not in this sport for four year I would not have met the great friends that I have today especially the students who are not in the same grade level as me. Also in cross country I learned to never give up even though a challenge gets in your way.

#6- The discipline policies and homework policies: even though I never liked the school policies I do appreciate them because they do keep the students on track and safe. In the beginning I thought I would have trouble with the policies since I came from a school that dis not have much policies but in the end I learned that the policies are there to help us.

#7- advisory: Having an advisory was great because during advisory I got the help from my advisees and from my advisor that I needed socially and academically as well because during advisory I got to talk about the difficulty that is going on which is a relief when you are a quiet person like me.

#8- music program: The music program in school has been fun because I like to sing even though it does not seem like I do since I am quiet. The music program is one factor that allowed me to open up more than how I was before in freshman year.

#9- : Ecocats: Senior year was the first time I been in the ecocats which is a environmental club that talks about recycling. During my time in ecocats I learned to recycle and care more about the environment more since it is killing the animals and that it's destroying the world. I liked ecocats so far and I am sure that it will be a useful skill to learn so I can help the environment.

#10- IPads: Another thing that I liked was that the school let the seniors have is an iPad because with the iPad I had the opportunity to learn how to do my homework with technology which is more resourceful since we I can research topics online even in school. Plus, with iPads we can do projects such as videos which is fun to do.the only bad things with the iPads is that many students play games with the iPad during class but since I need to pay attention in class so I can learn the days lesson, I do not play around with the iPad.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.185s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0414s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb