Rihila 23


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Illinois » Chicago
March 20th 2012
Published: March 20th 2012
Edit Blog Post

<strong id="internal-source-marker_0.2705861683934927" style="color:� font-family: 'Times New Roman'; line-height: normal; font-size: medium;"> I am a person of faith and hope. I live by many beliefs. A belief that I have come across this past year that has grown enormously is the belief of having equal rights and opportunities. As a student pushing oneself and making a difference in the world is a motivation to keep going. Having someone take that opportunity away to a certain extent makes life harder than others.
As a young girl going to school was not a mandatory activity for me. I enjoyed going to school. Meeting with friends, socializing, and increasing knowledge as years go by became a hobby of mine. I did not give up in class, and I strive to keep going until I could not go any farther. Every time I get home I would run to my mother and father and tell them, “One day I will make it so big that you do not have to worry about being financially stable because I will be such a success that you do not have to worry about anything and just be proud of what I have become.” As a young kid it seemed as people say easy peasy. A child’s imagination round wild. Anything thing seems possible with out any trouble, but as a kid I did not expect the trouble to happen during high school.Once high school started everything started to become a harsh reality. It wasn’t easy peasy as remembered when I was a young little girl. It took dedication and perseverance to not give up knowing the situation.
I was brought to the United States at the age of four. I have, in a way, been raise in this country. I grew up with my family’s culture, but I live and obey the law set by the United Stated almost my entire life. Therefore, I consider myself American and Ecuadorian even though my citizenship status does not show that. Knowing that, to further explain the situation, which is incredibly difficult to admit and embracing is that I am an undocumented student, and it has cause a great difficulty for me to move at the same pace as everyone else. College applications and scholarships are more difficult to obtain and apply to because there are not as many scholarship opportunities as other students who are born citizens. School has been a major affect due to being undocumented, but also having a life like any other teenager. Not being able to going to class trip, such as going to Rome, not being able to get a licence and drive around with friends, not being able to get a job, and living a everyday life without those constant worries. I have struggle to keep moving forward and striving for better. To not losing motivation I push myself to achieve better things despite the obstacles that have been but ahead of me. I tend to usually keep my word when I strongly believe in something. I believe that I will make it far in life, take care of my family, and make a change for others with my same situation or with any other problems that students may have. Although it is difficult I still have the rights and opportunities to go to college as other students but with some restriction, so I believe that with the success I will have for myself in the future I will create even more rights and opportunities to students no matter what their situation because education is the key. Everyone should have the same rights and opportunities for college and everyday life.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.158s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.053s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb