RIHLA #23


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Illinois » Chicago
March 19th 2012
Published: March 19th 2012
Edit Blog Post

I believe in individuality.

From the time I can remember I have always been an independent thinker. My mother often tells the story of how when I was in preschool, whenever she would try to tie my shoes or help put on my coat, I would always say “I can do it myself.” This mindset has followed me throughout my life. Although I consider my self to be friendly and outgoing, I would not consider myself a people person. I don’t hang out in groups, I don’t follow current trends, but I’m loyal to my friends and my family and the things that I like. Coming out of grammar school, a group of my classmates (including myself) got accepted to Loyola Academy in Wilmette, IL. For most of my classmates, going to high school with a familiar group would have lessen the anxiety of starting a new experience. For me, however, I was less attracted of going in a group and more attracted to not being a follower.

There are often stereotypes that are associated with being a teenager,people may think that we all listen to the same music, that we watch the same shows, that we all think alike. I disagree. When my friends are watch shows like Vampire Diaries and Glee, I watch the often over-looked show Bones. When my friends’ play list consist of the most popular rap song or popular group, mines consist of country music, independent artist, and the group Audio, formerly known as B5. I have always been a believer that If you like something, you should like it no matter what other people think. Because I believe that everybody is entitled to their own opinions and thoughts, I have never gotten into a conflict with people on their thoughts. People often try to make me think the way they think, without allowing me the same respect I give them in acknowledging their own opinion.

I value my individuality and the individuality of others. Being able to think for yourself is important. As teenagers, young adults, we may be often influenced by our peers, but it is important to know who you are and what you believe. Staying true to yourself is vitally important. Growing up in a community where there are so many negative influences around, you have to be able to differentiate between what is trending and what is right. As I look forward to going off to college, I know that Ill meet people from different cultures, experiences, and backgrounds, I am assured that I will have acceptance of who they are and would like to believe that that would be reciprocated.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.14s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0449s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb