RIHLA #22


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Illinois » Chicago
March 13th 2012
Published: March 13th 2012
Edit Blog Post

The article I chose is titled "Since When Is Being Patriotic Racist?"

This article is about a high school team in Texas being objectified for chanting "USA" and being insensitive. The game being played was between a predominantly white school and a predominatly minority school and some felt as though it may have been racist because those students from the predominantly minority school may have been from different places. This article attracted me because I like to consider myself patriotic, I look forward to the olymics and any other event that I can show support for my country. But there have been times I had to refrain from saying certain things as not to offend people from other countries. A lot of my folowers on twitter are from all over the world (we all share a common interest in either the show Bones or the group Audio (B5)) and there have been times where I had to consider other's vantage points and not say it. I do understand where the "racist" issue may come about, I believe, however, that given we are in America, showing support for our country shouldnt be dismissed.

This connects to world history because a lot of people migrated to the Americas and now consider themselves American. Its also important to understand that this world is made up of a lot of differnent people with different beliefs and values.

Yes, there is evidence of cause and effect in this article. A predominatly white team chanted "USA" and people felt as though it was racist.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.367s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 8; qc: 45; dbt: 0.2182s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb