Rihla 21


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Illinois » Chicago
March 6th 2012
Published: March 6th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Slavery hasnt changed much except now the slaves are used for different things like now they are used to work at factories and as prostitutes when in the old days they were used for plantation work. They connect because they are fighting for the same cause except now its a different kind of slavery but the facts show that slavery in any kind of form is wrong and inhumane.the polaris project is a awareness project in which they want to spread the awareness of slavery still existing in america in the form of prostitution. I absolutety agree that slqvery is alive today; this really angers me because this happens all to often in low income communities and those young childern who are forced into a world they seek never to enter are forced and abused in so many levels. I would see signs of this type of activity here in Chicago, Il, and would think to myself I need to help these people even if they sometimes dnt seek it because of fear and shame. A lot of immigrants are force to work for hard labor in promise that there loved ones will meet them in the united states or will be taken care of in the place they are currently living. Just like criminals see prostitution as a way to gain maximized profits, bussinesses see immigrants as a sign of profits because they pay very little to the immigrants for long hard hours. This issue has always been closely followed by me because I feel like I should be a powerful voice and speak up for those who have no one to watch their back or to support them. When I get to college I will be looking out for organization such a polaris to join and make a real difference in are corrupt society.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.15s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0434s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb