Day 51: Chicago


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Illinois » Chicago
February 16th 2012
Published: February 16th 2012
Edit Blog Post

After a relatively, let's call it sluggish start ot the day, I dragged myself out of bed and decided to head out. I took the train downtown and wandered around for a bit. There isnt actually much going on downtown unless you work there or want to shop. I made my way to Millenium Park to see the art installments around there, most noteably "The Cloud Gate". It is a really shiny chrome sculpture in the shape of a cloud (or a bean) that reflects everything around it. It is a really interesting view of the Chicago skyline looking at it through the Cloud Gate. Around there there is also the Pritzker Pavillion, where they host outdoor concerts, and the Crown Fountain, which consists of two 50 foot tall glass blocks standing opposite each other that project faces of Chicago citizens. The fountain itself doesnt work during winter, but the video was still running. It was a bit weird to have 50 foot faces looking at you as you walk around though.

From here I realised I had time to get to Soldier field to make the last tour of the day, so I headed out there. It took about 20 mins to get there on the train and then walking. It is in a really nice area that has a museum and a planatarium too. Once I was at the field it took me about half an hour to find the place where the tour started, which was really frustrating, but I made it just in time. The tour itself wasnt great to be honest. I was really looking forward to it since I am a Bears fan, but the tour didnt really touch on football that much, more just on the field. Interestingly, Soldier Field is regarded as the biggest military memorial in the country. There were a few military memorials within the stadium, but I wouldnt say it is a "memorial" per se, just a stadium with references to military personnel. The field was in pretty bad condition too, whcih is fair enough since it is off season, but it was still disappointing.

After heding home, I decided to go out to a local piza place called Lou Malnati's. It is pretty famous across Chicago for its deep dish pizza. My one had cheese, sausage, sauce, cheese, peppers, garlic and cheese. Oh, did I mention cheese? There was so much cheese! It was so nice though, the crust was thin and crunchy, and the filling was really gooey, but the sausage and peppers made it sweet. After dinner I had planned to go out, but I decided not to. The pizza was so filling it let me feeling really bloated and un-motivated to do anything.

Tomorrow if it is a nice day I plan on going to the top of the Hancock Building and the top of the Willis Tower (one at night), otherwise I might spend the day at a museum. I'll just take it as it comes.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



Tot: 0.093s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 47; dbt: 0.052s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb