Day 50: NYC - Chicago


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Illinois » Chicago
February 16th 2012
Published: February 16th 2012
Edit Blog Post

It was time to say goodbye to The Big Apple and say hello to The Windy City. That's right, today, I arrived in Chicago. The flight was really good. It was smooth and there were barely any people on the flight which meant I could spread out a bit. The cab ride to the hostel was interesting. The cabbie had no idea where he was going, and was trying to insist that the address I was going to was no where near Chicago. His tune changed when I said I'd get out and go with a driver that knew what was going on. Anyway I arrived at the hostel and it seemed really nice, until I realised that my dorm had 12 beds in it, and there were always people asleep. I know that is what a hostel is, but it is frustrating at 4.30pm when you want to have a shower and get ready for the night, you have to sneak around in the dark because people are asleep. I went down to the front desk and they changed me into a private room, so I'm much happier now, I can come and go as I want without feeling guilty.

So anyway I didnt end up doing much today really. I did some washing then headed out with a few people from the hostel to a cheap drinks night. $20 for all you can drink for three hours, plus pizzas. You couldn't go wrong, unless you did what I did and had too many free drinks. After our freebies, a couple of us headed over to another bar with a couple of locals and just chatted the night away. Befre I knew it we were getting kicked out of the bar because it was closing time. Oh well.

Tomorrow I plan to head over to Soldier field and do a tour of that and check out downtown a bit.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.059s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 22; dbt: 0.0416s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1003kb