RIHLA #18


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Illinois » Chicago
February 12th 2012
Published: February 12th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Part One (The Interview):

1. Name of Interviewee:
Anthony Willaims
2. Relationship to Interviewee:
Father
3. Decade of Choice: (The person should choose one decade from their life to refer to)
70s
4. Describe the environment in which you lived for that decade.
The enviroment was more mellowed out, since it was the end of the 60's. The people seemed more friendly and the music was good. The music was not catigorized, not black music or white music. The musicians listeners were more diverese. Prices were pretty cheap back then. It seemed like everyday was good and happy, it was like the 50's came back. But for the black people had more rights. It seemed that peopple where tired of fighting and it was dying down. I lived in was Chicago. I lived in a high rise and went to a catholic school, Saint james.
5. What major activities did you participate in?
Some mjaor activities were: i went to school, some sporting events (base ball, basket ball, football). It was the time period where I learned to participate in sports and engage in friends. The tv was also important, more black shpws were on at this time.
6. What were the major social issues of that decade?
Some major social issues were: Bring the remainging troops home from vietnam, some predujice of other races ( more like the womens equal rights). Women wanted equal rights ( amemendent). The gas prices started to go up toward the late 70's. One of the major isssues where that, Richard Nixson was elected president, and he later resigned instead of impeached. Drug problems existed back then, to have a good time (In the 80's it blew out more). It was recriational drugs, people didin;t know it would become a huge problem. Also, more people went to more discos, I remember going to one at Navy Pier.
7. What was the biggest turning point for you during that decade? Why?
I was becoming a teenager, a young man, and I started to fall for girls. I am thinking tht I am not a kid, but a teenager. I felt that I could do more and travel on my own. I was able to get more responsiblilty and become more mature. I started to hang out with my frineds more, I started to become my own person.
Part Two (Your Reflection):

1. In your own words, do you think that location has influenced this person’s actions? If so, explain.
I think so. I think that since he lived in a decade where it wasn't a lot of hate and not a lot of bad things. Though there was still some. I think that since he grew up in a place that was more equal he was able to take advantage of things that others before him could not have. he was abe to become more educated, and more independent.
2. Do you think your location within the last decade of your life has influenced your actions? Explain.
I think so. I have been in school for the last decade and have become more education. I think that since I was in chicgao and went to a Fine Arts and Museam Academy elementury school and a Charter high school, i have become more educated than if i would have went to another location. Or even was in the suburbs. I also believe that since i was born into the city and spent the last 10 yers here, i am more independent, compared to some one of a small town. These helped me with my actions, which has made me more educated and more indpependent.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0433s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb