RIHLA #4


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Illinois » Chicago
October 2nd 2011
Published: October 3rd 2011
Edit Blog Post

1) The reason why I chose this article was because the tittle of it has the word "Minorities" in it. This word caught my attention because I am a minority in this country since I am Hispanic. Also, the article also had the word "Homelessness" and I was curious on what the percentages of homelessness is in the United States. I also wanted to see how Minorities and homelessness connected.
2) I learned a lot from this article. One big thing I learned and surprised me is that White males used to be the pre dominant people that were homeless back in the days. Instead of minorities being the main people homeless, the majority white race was the high percentage in homelessness. I also learned that African-Americans today make up the largest amount of people being homeless with a 77% of all population.
3) In a way minorities and homelessness connects to what we have talked in class because the main people who were the small groups of people in India or China lived in poverty levels or were homeless as well. Minorities in India like the Dalits lived poverty levels or were homeless like minorities in the U.S. today.
4) This article makes me ask the question "Why?" a lot. It makes me want to learn more and try to find solutions for this problem. I want to know why minorities are the ones most affected by homeless and why not majorities in the U.S. I want to learn if in the future, I could change these horrific statistics.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.138s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 47; dbt: 0.1139s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb