Trip 1: Chicago


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Illinois » Chicago
August 8th 2010
Published: August 24th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Hello everyone! For now that means just me but I am sending this out so hopefully u guys read it and get some insight to my trek across the country. Week one I went to Chicago. I stayed at the Holiday Inn on Wabash Ave which is a few blocks away from the Magnificent Mile. Chicago was awesome and it was definitely new to experience humidity and sudden rain storms that are supposedly meant to cool down the temp. I was really happy with my hotel because it was downtown and had a lot of great shopping and food nearby. There was also beautiful building and I got to see the set of the new transformers movie. My hotel room was very modern and super cute. While there I ate at Portillos. It was funny because they all pronounced it Por-tillos. It made me think of my school buddy Pablo so I sent him pics of the restaurant sign. I also had AMAZING Chicago pizza at Duo Pizzeria. One of the best parts of the trip was seeing one of my dear friends Hugo who I still can not call by his real name because I am so used to calling him Juice. We went and saw the bean, the cool park with faces on the sides of fountains (see pics this is really cool) and of course I did plenty of shopping. Chicago was also cool because of all the cabs. I took them to and from work each day and that was new.

Work wise the week was CRAZY. I have never had a more intense schedule or training. We worked 9-10 hours each day then went home and did Think Trainings which are part of the job. It took me several days to adjust to the time difference. All of the people at Headquarters were really really nice and super supportive. Caitlin Greenwald went through the training with me and luckily we got along great. Her dad is Mitch Greenwald and he was the CIO of Staff Management for years but recently left to start his own business. Caitlin and I got along great and that made it much easier to go through such an intense week!


Additional photos below
Photos: 26, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Airport1Airport1
Airport1

This was a cool light display on the ceiling and it was choreographed to music. Super cool
Airport2Airport2
Airport2

Love the lights
Holiday Inn ExpressHoliday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Express

Loved my room super modern
1st drink alone1st drink alone
1st drink alone

Decided to go to dinner by myself and decided yes a drink does sound good.
Awesome FountainAwesome Fountain
Awesome Fountain

This is a small park with 2 huge fountains for people to play in and both fountains are large brick walls that show images of peoples faces.
Fountain 2Fountain 2
Fountain 2

All the suddent the face will change and make a pucker face and shoot water out of where the mouth looks like. The kids all scream and squeal.


24th August 2010
2010-08-07 15.19.34

SPECIAL LION
A FEW THINGS: First its lame Ihave to enter my email address and everything every time i wanna make a comment, your blog will lack my insight because of this extra step. :-) Secondly, Awe...JUGO! Glad you got to see him. And lastly, is that in front of the museum? I posed with that same lion. I actually tried to climb on top of it but the big security guard yelled at me right before he gave me reccos on where to get the good pizza.
24th August 2010
2010-08-05 07.09.09

You did!
It looked like you chopped your hair, you did. Think of all the shampoo you will save.

Tot: 0.049s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 9; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0245s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb