Phone Preparations


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Illinois » Chicago
March 9th 2009
Published: March 9th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I have done all the technical things to have a way for people to contact me while I am abroad. Now, I just need to inform my friends and family about my phone plan.

Here is my plan:
1. Leave Nokia 6682 with AT&T SIM card in Chicago, so I won't get charged international roaming. Yet, I can still be contacted and respond with automatic messages. In my voicemail, mention my abroad phone numbers. When I receive text messages, do "auto responding" which states that I could be contacted by e-mail.
2. Bring LG Incite (CT810) with OneRoam SIM card to Japan, because the cellphone will work in Japan and the SIM card will have cheaper world rates. OneRoam is NOT renting, it's owning the SIM card. And there's no expiration date, so when I travel in the future, I can use that SIM card again.
3. Buy a Japan & USA phone number from Skype, so my friends and family won't have to worry about calling me internationally. The numbers will both transfer to my LG Incite.


I have a dual traveling clock and a dual clock in my cellphone screen, so I will know what time Japan and the USA is.

My OneRoam SIM card is an Estonian number. If people call me at that number directly, they will be charged international calling but the price is FREE for incoming calls for me. Also, I have a Skype subscription. If I call using Skype through the internet, I can call unlimited times to anyone in the USA and landlines in Japan.

Here is where I got my items
Skype: Click Here
OneRoam: Click Here
AT&T Cellphones that work in Japan: Click Here
Nokia Auto SMS Response Application: Click Here

Advertisement



13th March 2009

Man, I STILL don't understand skype...
8th April 2009

Very Detailed
You're really looking at the details, that's great. I've been meaning and meaning to make a Skype, but I just don't have the time or enough of an emergency reason. =P
25th July 2010

Hi, I'm about to go to Japan for study abroad and wanted to know how u got the skype numbers to forward to ur cellphone^^
22nd November 2010

Re: Skype Numbers
Were you able to find Skype numbers? If you're already in Japan, did you find out that it was unnecessary?

Tot: 0.157s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0694s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb