Getting ready...


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Illinois » Chicago
July 3rd 2008
Published: July 3rd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Kim and Rob Eurotrip 2008!

Rome: July 6th - July 21st (Rob comes on July 19th) Geneva, Switzerland: July 21st - July 23rd (we're flying there!) Lucerne, Switz: July 23rd - July 25th Zurich, Switz: July 25th (stopping there for the day) Saltzberg, Austria: July 26th - July 27th (overnight train - ugh! Excited for the Sound of Music tour!) Vienna, Austria: July 27th - July 29th Prague, Czech Republic: July 29th - July 31st (Rob is annoyed at the frequency of me telling him that I can't wait to get to Prague) Krakow, Poland: August 1st - August 2nd (overnight train again and we're meeting up with one of my former students' cousins that lives there) Warsaw, Poland: August 2nd - August 3rd (traveling that night to his family's area) Lomza/Romany, Poland: August 3rd - August 8th CHICAGO: August 8th

Additional maps: Rome

So I thought this would be a great way for everyone to hear about our travels and not have to wait until we get back! People seemed to enjoy the last one we did when Kat, Stef, and I did Eurotrip 2006. I can't believe that was two years ago...! I'm not sure how much Rob will contribute to this blog, but I might be able to coerce him with some Swiss Chocolate or Prague beers. He'll do anything to get free stuff!

Here's the story of why I am going to Rome (not that you need a reason):
I had a student teacher in the spring and was given a free class at Loyola. Now when I looked at the course catalog and saw a course in Rome, I didn't have to think twice. The funny thing is, it most likely won't count for my masters program, but like Ms. Freling says, "knowledge is never wasted." I am scheduled for another student teacher in the fall but I'll probably stay stateside for that one. The class is called Foundations of Western Education and half of our time is spent in the classroom and the other half at the major Roman sites. Our teacher, Mr. Roemer, is a Fulbright Scholar so I'm excited to meet him. We stay at an old convent just outside of the city center and I have a roommate is named Kimberly - she is my age and is going for her masters in teaching math. After two whole weeks, Rob will be meeting me in Rome for a romantic reunion (cheesy, I know).


Rob and I have planned out the three weeks but know that we'll have to be flexible, especially with the crazy trains, hostels gone wrong, etc. You can check out our map and each time we blog it shows were we are.

Rome: July 6th - July 21st (Rob comes on July 19th)
Geneva, Switzerland: July 21st - July 23rd (we're flying there!)
Lucerne, Switz: July 23rd - July 25th
Zurich, Switz: July 25th (stopping there for the day)
Saltzberg, Austria: July 26th - July 27th (overnight train - ugh! Excited for the Sound of Music tour!)
Vienna, Austria: July 27th - July 29th
Prague, Czech Republic: July 29th - July 31st (Rob is annoyed at the frequency of me telling him that I can't wait to get to Prague)
Krakow, Poland: August 1st - August 2nd (overnight train again and we're meeting up with one of my former students' cousins that lives there)
Warsaw, Poland: August 2nd - August 3rd (traveling that night to his family's area)
Lomza/Romany, Poland: August 3rd - August 8th
CHICAGO: August 8th



Advertisement



Tot: 0.099s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 6; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0695s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb