Chicago


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Illinois » Chicago
May 5th 2008
Published: May 11th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Well I had plenty of time in the airport to relax before my flight which was good and the flight was pretty quick. I landed in Chicago and jumped on the train into the city to catch up with Tony Pettit (Uncle Gunny’s Friend) who we had caught up with in Orlando and Ballarat last year with his wife Kath. As I was carrying half my life on my back, we headed back to Tony and Kath’s for a few beers, some tea and TV (watched the Chicago Cubs hit 19 runs to 7 in the baseball game on TV, highest score I have ever seen). It was a good relaxing night to catch up and recover from a big one the night before.

On Thursday morning I had a bit of a sleep in and checked my emails before I headed into the City to see the sites of Chicago. There had been a lot of work done a number of years back to the lake foreshore and park lands in city. Millennium Park (which was finished in 2002, 2 years late) was the best of them. There was a massive music stage with a huge grass area behind it, which would be awesome for concerts like the Sydney Myer Music bowl has. Tony and Kath came and picked my up in the City and took me to one of their favourite restaurants. It was a pretty nice place and considering I was wearing khaki pants, fluro yellow tee and runners, I was not standing out at all. But the steak and bottle of red we had for tea was beautiful.

Friday was raining in the morning, so there was no rush to head out, so I got my washing done, sent out some emails and posted off some presents. After that Kath and I headed into the city on the train to catch up with Tony for a late lunch, but it ended up being more of a liquid lunch with nibbles. After drinking some new cocktails that the waiter was trying out we headed to Tony’s old local for a drinks and nibbles, after 8 hours of drinking we thought it was best to head back home. Once again Chicago introduced me to a few more beers on my world beer tasting tour. The Saturday morning was a slow start again, but I did make it to the airport with time to spare, so it was off to Vegas. Once again Gun’s friend have given and offered me the world during my stays with them, which was amazing.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.12s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0497s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb