Mistletoe and Wine


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Illinois » Chicago
December 25th 2007
Published: December 27th 2007
Edit Blog Post

CDCDCD

Christmas dinner, with sprout induced farting and everything.
Awake at around 4, because I was so excited. Actually no, I grew out of that when I was about 19. But we were up fairly early and all opened presents around the tree. I asked if we could sit in Chris and Jackie's bed while we opened them as my brother and I would do in my parents' bed as kids, but this was deemed inappropriate.

Considering I was a last minute addition, I was pleasantly surprised to see a stocking (well, a tube sock) hanging up for me. Dan and I had decided to anglicise the day as much as possible, so we each had a satsuma and some chocolate, then Dan had got me a cool T shirt, and Chris and Jackie a copy of On the Road - a present originally intended for Dan, but they thought it would be more relevant to me, haha! I played safe and bought everyone alcohol, which seemed to strike the right chord.

Once presents were opened, Dan and I set to sorting out lunch, which was going swimmingly until we realised we forgot to put the ham in the oven. It still turned out pretty well though, and we fielded lots of questions about the food; What are these cakes (Yorkshire puddings)? What's this brown sauce (Gravy)? What are those little biscuits (My stuffing balls which were a bit deflated)?

After dinner, we had Christmas pudding, which we'd put a pound coin in, and mince pies, which both went down pretty well.

I tried to get some party games going after we'd eaten, but no one fancied a game of charades so we sat around talking and drinking until the early hours. A good day though I was disappointed not to be able to give anyone Uncle Dave's 'treatment' during a game of Chase the Ace.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.129s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0799s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb