Louis Louis


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Missouri » St Louis
December 27th 2007
Published: December 27th 2007
Edit Blog Post

GAGAGA

The Gateway Arch. Rumours McDonalds wants to put a second one rigth next door are unfounded.
Left Chris' place early yesterday, but my bus of choice was sold out, so I had another 5 hour wait in a bus terminal until 3.30, meaning I didn't get to St Louis until 11pm. I'd decided to splash out though and book myself into the Hilton here though, so at least I had a night of relative luxury ahead.

Awoke at 10, and head a quite expensive omelette for breakfast before going to see the sights. First on the list was the Gateway Arch, a huge structure representing the status of St Louis as Gateway to the west. It was pretty impressive, but I gave the ride to the top a miss, I'd read it wasn't really worthwhile.

After this, I visited the Museum of Westward Expansion (mostly because it was free) which documented the 19th century journey of Lewis and Clark mapping the area bought by the US as part of the Louisiana Purchase. It also gave an idea of just how much the native Americans were shafted at this point in time.

I'd also planned to visit the International Ten Pin Bowling Museum but I couldn't find it. Maybe it was down an alley. Or they were closed due a strike. Ahem. Actually I later found out I'd been looking for it in the wrong street. Partly my fault, but also I feel that of the town planners, who have named every street here after a different type of nut.

For dinner I went to Hooters (I know, I know) and spent time talking with one of the waitresses about how different food is in the UK. Sadly I couldn't name any vegetables which were English, though she did put me straight on the fact that Spanish and Italian cheeses are both definitely American.

There's not really a great deal to see here, so I'm especially grateful I spent Christmas in Chicago, rather than 3 whole days in St Louis. Think I would have been bored out of my mind, though I did pump some iron in the hotel gym this afternoon. I plan to look like Andre the Giant when I come back.

Advertisement



4th January 2008

I bet..
you were going spare not being able to find that museum! Also read the '19th century journey of Lewis and Clark' as 'Lois and Clark'....was totally baffled as to why Superman in disguise and that hack he shacked up with were mapping the Mississippi Delta and surrounding area in the 1800's! But then again, he was Superman...

Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0542s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb