June 12 Burns OR to ID


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Idaho
June 12th 2009
Published: June 13th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I think the last time I put sunblock on was on Malibu Beach. And it has been 4-5 days since I last felt comfortably warm through a whole day's riding. I think I last remember feeling that way while riding through Sonoma wine country on US101 in CA. After that a low pressure system stalled over the CA/OR coast and we've been in various clothing and rainsuit layers ever since.

But I know better than to whine too much. I decided a few years ago that I liked motorcycle riding because of the feeling of freedom and usually wonderful air smells as I rocket down the road. It's that immediate contact with the outer environment, even at 70 plus mph. And on a trip as long as this one, you have to take whatever the sky and atmosphere give you. Sure you prepare--chap stick, sunblock, shades, rainsuits, and even duct tape for the ankles of your rainsuit (!). But the purpose in motorcycling is the journey, not the destination. I have tried to keep that in mind as I miserably counted off the miles to the next stop in civilization (on high desert in OR) while the rain and even pea-size hail pelted us for more than an hour at a time. (the pea size hail didn't last more than 2 mi.) I tried to remember the journey as destination while I began to wonder how much more warmth the wet wind could sweep from my body before I went into hypothermia (doesn't that sound melodramatic?!). The journey is the destination in every way.

This morning we had more miserable wet as we wove our way for 2 hrs. through the Blue Mts. But there was more cheer and joking than yesterday and we knew we could outlast the patchy storms. By lunch time, we were leaving the continuously dark horizon and riding back into warm sunlight. I reminded myself that we always appreciate the status quo after we have had to live without it for a while! I found myself wondering if in the past stressful 18 mos. I have remembered to give God extra thanks when those wonderful moments of respite occurred. That is a small lesson I hope to take from this journey back into my everyday life.

Besides the more "philosophical" lessons, I have picked up a few strategies for those of you who ride "behind" on motorcycles:
1."Posting"--the human body as shock absorber can be a great help to a fully loaded bike's shocks on bad roads.
2.Shooting at 75 mph--the wonders of digital cameras let us do things we never could have with the old instamatic. I put the attached cord over my wrist and keep it tucked in my rain jacket sleeve or, if warm weather, in my jeans front pocket. That way it's ready to yank out and power up when a scenic shot pops up on the horizon.
3. The "hollow" space between Steve's back and my front is a great plae to stuff gloves/camera case when I'm adjusting helmet or taking pics.
4.For the long-legged-- small towns and construction zones are perfect for letting those appendages hang down from the footrests and stretching the old joints and ligaments. I never miss a chance!
5. Sleeves on a rain jacket can also be great storage for gloves. Caveat: the wind does change placement. I thought I had lost one of my gloves while taking pics on the Golden Gate Bridge, but it had just slid up to my armpit inside the sleeve (!).

In about 48 hrs. we should be riding through Yellowstone into the Tetons. Weather forecasts are not encouraging, but we're going to take it how we find it and ask God to show us what we need to see. I'm looking forward to it no matter what. Blessings, Grace.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.166s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0699s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb